STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 90 - ALABAMA (ORIGINAL SONG BY STEPHEN MARTIN AND DUSTIN TAYLOR)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)



This week I'm entering Steemit Open Mic week 90 with an original song written by Friday Session (Dustin Taylor and Stephen Martin). It's called 'Alabama' and it was written when we were 16 years old. 😎

Lyrics

Verse 1
I knew a girl from Alabama
She whispered softly in my ear
She said be home before 11
I said I try my hardest dear

Chorus
But I don't understand the Way You Are
And I'm not quite seeing it
I don't understand the Way You Are
And I'm not quite feeling it

Verse 2
I've got to talk to you my father but I see you're drunk again
I guess it can wait until tomorrow but this s*** it never ends

Repeat Chorus

Verse 3
I knew a boy from Arizona
Thought he could make it on his own
Hey mister can I bum a quarter
I have to make a call to home

Repeat Chorus

Breakdown
And so they all went down to Florida
And had a big party
And he said hey mister
can I invite my mommy?

Repeat chorus


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Cool tune, Steve... it's even more awesome that you guys were only 15 when you penned it! Nice!

Suggested lyrical edit: instead of "had a great big party" - how about - "just had a ball" ... I was expecting that in my mind as I was listening so I thought I'd share it... :-)

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll try it out. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60453.64
ETH 2425.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48