My First Magic Mushrooms Experience

in #onstellar6 years ago


(Image source:Pixabay)

My first experience with magic mushrooms was truly unforgettable. I knew psilocybin was a psychedelic and read about its mind-altering effects. I figured everyone’s experience will be unique to them. Who’s to say what mine would be like? It’s kind of scary but exciting at the same time. I was going to be with my boyfriend, so I knew I’d be safe in any case, and trusted the process. So, getting on with the story, we had driven down to Pennsylvania one Memorial Day Weekend to go hiking near the Delaware Water Gap.

We got to the trailhead and sat in the car for a bit. I was getting that scared/excited feeling. We started chewing our shares of the ‘shrooms (3.5grams each) with some chocolate. Thank goodness for the chocolate because the ‘shrooms tasted like bark! After about 30 minutes, we decided to get out to start hiking the trail. Then, it hit me. I started laughing. Why? I noticed the wind was blowing the trees in the nearby distance in a wavy pattern and I felt like they were waving hello to me, connecting with me. Everything around me was vibrating, even myself from the inside out. My senses were in hyperdrive.

The green of the plants was the clearest, sharpest ever seen, more than 3D. I saw bright and vivid geometric patterns of light in the branches. All that I felt, and saw was like a child experiencing the world for the first time. Everything was amazing and fascinating, even the little fly sitting on a leaf. It felt so good to take deep breaths of the cool air. Looking at the digital viewfinder on my camera was like looking at a moving oil painting. Walking was a bit of a challenge. I felt so light and yet so clumsy in this heavy physical body. My head was woozy, and a wave of nausea hit and up came breakfast. I should’ve known, with my off and on stomach issues, that common side effects of mushrooms are nausea and vomiting. Live and learn I guess. After what seemed like a few minutes (not sure), we stopped along the trail to sit and meditate for a bit. I sat looking at the trees around me once again and closed my eyes. And there, in my mind’s eye, I saw a woman’s face! Beautiful with her eyes closed and smiling. I could look at her forever.

Then we took a path downhill leading through a canopy and found a clearing that had a waterfall with a small lake. What a site! The rocks near the top of the falls were glistening with all the colors of the rainbow. The area was covered with small wildflowers, mostly white and purple. We must’ve been there for hours, enjoying the present to the fullest.

It’s difficult to describe this experience in words to do it justice. Looking back at it, all worries, fears, distractions melted away. The woman’s face I can’t help but feel it being Gaia revealing herself to me. One’s ego fades and we are one with nature, one with people, one with everything –the universe. Truly it was one of most magical mind-expanding experiences of my life.

The Take-Away
After having such a positive trip, it definitely had an impact on my spiritual journey. I saw the world through different eyes and have developed a deeper appreciation for just being here, being present, taking in the beauty all around us. And seeing how nature is purposefully designed means we were also designed that way. It cannot be by random chance how the universe and our world have been put together. And of course it begs the eternal question, “Why are we here? What is our purpose?” But that’s a subject for a long discussion another time. But just as a fun and intriguing side note...In some metaphysical circles, it is said that our souls knew our purpose coming into this world but have simply forgotten. And so spend our lives trying to "remember" that purpose.

Disclaimer: Now I am NOT encouraging or promoting that people go out and do ‘shrooms and other psychedelics. They are still illegal substances in the United States. The truth is that these substances alter your perception of time and reality. Not all experiences will necessarily be positive. And in taking them, you are taking a risk, with your body and mind. So, please please please do your research if you are considering it and be safe!

Sort:  

That sounds like a wonderful experience you had there with the mushrooms. Thank you for sharing with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.28
ETH 3369.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48