@Onerace: "Pagmamano" as one of the Filipino cultures

in #onerace6 years ago

33653637_2308840149342969_6322388414595334144_n.jpg

This is my parents who taught me and my sibs about "Pagmamano" as one of the many treasured cultures that our country (Philippines) have. This was taken during the "Lingganay sa Mabinay" a yearly event in our town every during in the month of December to January. It is an event where every baranggay in our Municipality showcase their Christmass tree and also a time to showcase talents of everyone and also a time to be filled with different entertainments purely produced by Mabinayanon. Mabinayanon refers to the people in Mabinay.

Source: Yours truly captured using samsung j7

Hi everyone, it's been a month since I joined here in steemit. And being here feels really good. I mean, I am sorrounded by different people who has different nationality, culture,traditions, and beliefs but yet everyone is very friendly. The only thing that binds us all together is our passion. The passion of writing and sharing a part of our lives to everybody through blogging and vlogging makes as one. And I must say that through steemit is where I found a missing piece of myself that makes me whole as a person. Thanks steeminians!

Everyone is proud of who they are and what they have in their nation. And I must also say that I am proud of being a Filipino. Filipino is know of having abundant and unique traditions and cultures. Not to brag but Filipinos are widely known of being patient, courteous and respectful. This particular asset that every Filipino have is predominantly appreciated in different parts of the world. That is why I am proud being a Filipino.

From the moment they are born, their parents and elders already taught them different good values and they are also trained on how to be respectful in all ways. For example answering or asking a question should always countain this Filipino phrase "po" . This is used to addressed to elders whenever having a conversation.

Also Filipino have this very unique culture which they called "pagmamano". It is an act of showing their respect to their elders by raising the back of the hands of the elders to their foreheads. The "pagmamano" culture of Filipino has no exact time nor place of when to use it. Anytime and anywhere everyone can make "mano" to their elders. It has been the countries tradition and culture that has been practiced since then by their ancestors and is continously pass to generations to generations. Filipino really put strong merit when it comes to respect aspects. That is why parents practiced their children at home on how to behave and act respectful to everyone regardless of socioeconomic status, ethnic and lifestyle.

My parents also taught us this "pagmamano" thing since we were kids. And they even made it sweeter ❤.
33467753_2308840552676262_7655071519063670784_n.jpg

This is my parents and my sibs I took the pic that is why I am not there hahah

Source: Yours truly captured using samsung j7

Before we go to bed, me and my siblings have to "mano" to our parents and even after waking up. That is part of our everydays routine. And also even in times like our parents came home from somewhere or either they will go to somewhere we make "mano" to them before they go. I have mentioned that my parents made this culture of ours even sweeter because every after doing "pagmamano" to them we have to kiss them and embrace hahah I find it really sweet XD. I can still remember their sweet voice back then when they are teaching us how to do it step by step. Yes there is a steps lolz hahah. Fist we have to "mano" them and then after kiss their left cheek and then the right and embrace. Mom and Dad usually prolonged the "embrace" word when they were still teaching it to us back then so that we will embrace them tightly hahah. It is kind of a signal to us to tighten our hugs or embrace to them. After that they will kiss us back and embrace us back also.
33341416_2308840169342967_8834106377585557504_n.jpg
Source: Yours truly captured using samsung j7

Sort:  

Isn't pagmamano a tradition of the Tagalog region? I don't think you'll find pagmamano in other native cultures here in the Philippines. It was just adopted probably because it was popularized by people in the capital.

Congratulations @relentlessmind! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44