Rape A Major Public Issue; The Agony Of A Rape Victim

in #onequality7 years ago (edited)

“Mum, he gave me orange juice and i fell asleep, and i found myself on his bed when i woke up. I was weak and in pain and I saw blood flowing between my legs”.

I think you have a picture of what I’m about to discuss. This is no longer a news, as children and teenagers are being sexually abused.

“Come on Betty, your uncle cannot do such; he is a good man and has been living here with us since you were 10 years”.

Disclaimer: Betty in this content does not refer to anybody and should only be seen as a means of illustration.

What could make a mother doubt what her daughter said mostly when it comes to rape. Most parents believe the children are telling lies but the truth is ONLY IF SHE KNEW, she would not have acted that way and taken things with levity.

Back to the issue. I have seen and heard many scenario where children and teenagers are being molested and sexually abused both males and females, but the females are mostly the victims of this abuse.

Do you know the trauma most of this victims pass through, or can you imagine the stigma that is attached to them by the public?

Victims of rape become psychologically unstable due to the memory of the event. The eventinvolves several rough handling, beating and injuries. Some victims of rapes contact sexually transmitted disease (STI), some get unwanted pregnancy and get their lives rearranged to the worse for them, a few even die either during the process of raping them or after the incident as a result of being mentally unbalanced.

I was speaking to a young lady two days ago, and she shared her experience about how she was raped when she was 16 years when robbers attacked them. I am not going into much details but I’ll share a little of what she discussed with me.

She said, “I was still young and I was sexually abused by thieves who came after my father. After the event, my fathers’ attitude changed towards me, he stated looking at with scorn”. You can imagine what sexually abused people have to pass through among peers, family, relatives and even in the community.

She went further to say “if it could get opportunity to give a verdict, my judgment would be that any man guilty of rape should be castrated and sent to live imprisonment”.

I do not support rape, and I write this to show love to those who have passed through such circumstance before. I also advice that people stop raping and molesting children and youth

What is your take on the issue of rape?

If you were opportune to write the law, what would be your verdict for raping?


image credit 1 2 3 4


Thanks for reading


PLEASE YOU CAN UPVOTE, FOLLOW AND RESTEEM THIS POST. ALSO YOU CAN VISIT MY BLOG @gbenga ON STEEMIT


I ALWAYS WELCOME CRITICS AND COMMENTS, ALSO IF YOU FEEL THERE IS SOMETHING I NEED TO DO TO IMPROVE, PLEASE INCLUDE IN YOUR COMMENTS


Regards
From small-4605-5908eb3da2bfa.png

Sort:  

i do not comprehend why people will stoop so low to raping. thanks for reading my post @ehiboss

@gbenga.. Castrating is not even enough, but not to mention, penalty should be equal to first degree murder. Thanks for this sensitization post. #powerofnaija #SayNoToRape

thanks a lot, i totally agree with you

these thing goes all around the world. have just watched a video in a social media of one woman being raped by her own father, brother, and her uncle with her mother knowing and posted it before taking her own life. strange as it is but i'm sorry for the woman's life going to the end.

both male and females are victims of rape, but i think the females are more on the receiving end. this thing needs to stop

Saddening. Thankyou for the informative post.

i really appreciate you taking time to read my post.

All over the world rape is like normal cenario even in your on family.. this terible and unacceptable sin of human.

it is really bad to see people become traumatize due to rape issue... thanks for reading my post

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $32.09 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Sad topic. Education would help. And public campaigns

that's a very good one, education would help. Thanks for sharing

there are so many dysfunctions involved with rape - but as with all such dyfunctions there is a denial of emotion involved and also heartlessness. we can all heal our own heartlessness and accept our real emotions more - which will gradually transform society to be more empowered. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66