#293/365, Let's have some afternoon snack on New Road, Bangkok, ไปหาของกินเล่นตอนบ่ายที่ถนนเจริญกรุง, the OPED project.

Today is my shopping day at Robinson supermarket in New Road or Chreon Krung road. As the weahther turns out bright and cheerful, after two days of horribly grey energy, I decided to have a walk along New Road to find some good afternoon snack.

2cynwv2gpu.jpg
(All photos taken with Canon IXUS 185, my iPhone memory is full!)

This old road seems quite narrow nowadays, but it was meant for horses and carriages about two hundred years ago. There is perpectual traffic jam on this road, except in times of curfew and military coup! I walked up north towards the Shangri-la Hotel. I did happen to spot a Chinese sweet stall while driving to the shopping mall, that's why I was walking towards my destination this afternoon for my tea-time snack. I couldn't believe how these drivers managed to avoid accidents, there was so little space between these bumpers, too many motor cycles and buses on this narrow road.

39vgjwhe4u.jpg

vgs8qk5iny.jpg

It was quite interesting to see the old system for retracting sunshade. This side of the road would normally get the full blast of afternoon sunshine. I walked past several noodle stalls; one home-made fish ball noodle which guaranteed that they didn't add any chemical to preserve the fish ball. The seating area looked very birght and clean, I would come here for dinner some time.

qo3y31is57.jpg

There is a very interesting duck noodle stall nearby with reasonbal prices. This road is just like a mini-China Town for me, especially at night when we could find all kinds of fast food stalls from shark fin soup to traditional Chinese red beans stew and grounded black sesame milk. Tthere is also a Chinese style roast duck and roast pork restaurant a few meters away. In front of this restaurant, there is a big pot of boiling water for cooking wanton (minced pork wrapped in rice flour). This is typical Chinese restaurant which can be found everywhere in China Town, the particular design of the restaurant is also the standard to be expected from good Chinese restaurants. I was very glad to see this tradition being kept alive to these days.

kwfkx4xzdo.jpg
(Duck noodle stall called Siri)
eiv9j3x68i.jpg

Roast duck and roast pork Chinese restaurant called Prachak, established in 1909!
3y9zz904dw.jpg
(Making wantan for customers)
js5wtns4b5.jpg
(Take away roast duck and pork can be ordered at the counter)
692zivov0x.jpg

I took very quick snaps with my pocket camera without having to ask for their persmission. They just seemed to ignore me and carried on with their work. Perhaps they are used to having strangers and tourists taking their photos, as this ares is surrounded by several big hotels which are popular with tourists. I think the Chinese community in this area is much older than the one in China Town as New Road and the first port in Siam were established in this area. Moreover, there are three catholic schools only ten minutes' walk away. The big catholic church and one of the schools were the oldest catholic establishment in Bangkok.

wyruxc540m.jpg

It took me less than ten minutes to reach Si Wiang road which is opposite the entrance to the Shangri-la Hotel. I reached the stall selling Chinese bean curd in ginger water. This is one of my favoutite sweets: soya beans would be grounded and cooked into soft texture like jelly which could be dished out in layers upon layers into a bowl with some brown sugar and boiled ginger water. Some may add deep fried Chinese gruttons on top. This is my favourite sweet for cool days and whenever I have a cold.

202493j2b3.jpg
(Two kettles for boiling ginger in water)

b8743k1w2x.jpg
Chinese deep fried gruttons into the bowl, I normally would put these the last!

149c8prw5a.jpg
(I did ask for extra portion of bean curd, I forgot to take the photo of the sweet with ginger water, I was so hungry.)

Then, I found out that the fried banana stall opposite my table was very popular with the locals. I had an inspection after my Chinese sweet. This stall has been recognised by various tourists' guide books including some Thai good food guide. This is a family business, the son would be serving customers while the father would be in front of the extra large frying pan and the mother would be peeling and cutting the bananas. The son was very sweet, I saw him giving his mother a shoulder massage while there weren't any customers. The father told me that tourists often followed their guidebooks and maps to search for his stall. Korean tourists seem to be coming here in droves. He said he had many European tourists visiting his stall regularly. I also bought one bag of fried bananas for my late afternoon snack. So, I hope I could skip my dinner and have some more fruits instead.

ptwme81yfo.jpg

kv6i214gjf.jpg

i9l43tpa8t.jpg

lhec4mq56t.jpg

This has been a very interesting walk for me and a filling one too with two afternoon snacks. The ample parking at the Robinson shopping mall has made it very convenient; I could leave my car there while going out and about exploring the old quarter of Bangkok. I would try to show you the old catholic church next week.

zccngun6l5.jpg

วันนี้แดดออกและบรรยากาศหายซึมเซาหดหู่ เราจึงไปซื้ออาหารที่ห้างโรบินสันที่บางรัก ตรงถนนเจริญกรุง ตอนรถกำลังผ่านไปเราเห็นร้านขายเต้าฮวยร้อน พอจอดรถได้ก็ออกไปเดินเล่นที่ถนนเพื่อตามหาที่กินขนมตอนบ่ายแก่ๆ ถนนนี้มีของกินมากมาย เดินผ่านร้านก๋วยเตี๋ยวปลา ลูกชิ้นปลาทำเองโดยไม่ใส่สารเคมี ดูท่าทางร้านก็สะอาดน่าไปนั่งกินสักวันหนึ่ง เดินไปอีกหน่อยก็เจอร้านก๋วยเตี๋ยวเป็ดตุ๋น ท่าทางดูดีมาก นี่ถ้าพาเพื่อนๆมาคงไม่ต้องไปไหนจนกว่าจะได้กินกันคนละชาม แต่ร้านที่เราชอบมาก เห็นจะเป็นร้านขายเป็ดย่างและหมูย่าง เพราะร้านอาหารเป็นแบบจีนโบราณโดยไม่มีการเปลี่ยนแปลงรูปแบบร้านเลย ร้านนี้ชื่อประจักษ์และเปิดร้านขายเป็ดย่าง ตั้งแต่ปี 2452. ข้างหน้าร้านมีหม้อต้มนํ้าสำหรับทำเกี๊ยวนํ้าด้วย ร้านนี้มีคนเข้าออก ตลอดเวลา ลูกค้าสามารถสั่งเป็ดย่างเป็นตัว และหมูย่างใส่กล่องกลับบ้านได้ วันหนึ่งคงขายได้มาก ดูจากโครงเป็ดที่เลาะเนื้อใส่กล่องแล้ว

เราเดินประมาณสิบนาทีก็ถึงมุมถนนศรีเวียง ร้านขายเต้าฮวยร้อนอยู่ตรงข้ามกับทางไปโรงแรมแชงกรีล่า เราก็สั่งแบบพิเศษหนึ่งชาม เต้าฮวยร้อนเหมาะสำหรับวันที่อากาศเปลี่ยนแปลงและรู้สึกเหมือนจะเป็นหวัด ได้นํ้าขิงแก่ๆ ร้อนๆทำให้หายใจโล่ง และช่วยการย่อยอาหารด้วย เราสังเกตเห็นร้านขายกล้วยแขก หรือกล้วยทอดใกล้ๆมีคนมาแวะซื้อไม่ขาดสาย เราจึงต้องทำการสำรวจ เราพบว่าร้านนี้มีชื่อเสียงและมีคนรู้จักมาก นักท่องเที่ยว โดยเฉพาะคนเกาหลีชอบตามหนังสือนำเที่ยวมากินกล้วยแขกที่ร้านนี้ ร้านนี้เคยออกสื่อโทรทัศน์และถูกแนะนำในหนังสือท่องเที่ยวด้วย เราก็ต้องซื้อติดมือกลับมาหนึ่งถุง วันนี้เราได้เดินเล่นเพื่อตามไปกินขนมที่เราชอบ และได้เจอที่กินอาหารแบบท้องถิ่นโดยคนจีนที่อาสัยอยู่ใบแถบนี้มานานถึง สาม สี่ชั่วอายุคน เราคิดว่าที่นี่คงเป็นที่แรกๆที่คนจีนเข้ามาตั้งรกรากในเมืองสยาม เพราะถนนนี้เป็นถนนสายแรกในสยาม และท่าเรือขนส่งสินค้าแห่งแรกก็อยู่บนถนนเจริญกรุง และไม่ไกลจากที่นี่ก็มี โบสถ์คาทอลิกส์ที่เก่าแก่ที่สุดในกรุงเทพฯ และมีโรงเรียนคาทอลิกส์แห่งแรกในสยามอีกด้วย เราจะพยายามไปสำรวจโบสถ์เพื่อนำมาเสนอให้อ่านในสัปดาห์ต่อไป

Have a very good week.

Cheers.

Sort:  

I agree with you that your walk was interesting!
Good photos from which get a full view of your walk.

I have been to that area many of times very congested area you need to watch your back in every direction but it's all exciting ...the duck noddle i have had many times at that very shop in your photo just the best....yummy :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kaminchan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98