Stop Complaining and Make A Change | Dtube RoofTalk #1

in #onelovedtube6 years ago (edited)


Do you ever find yourself complaining, with no intention of actually doing the action required to change the situation you're complaining about? 

You know, like when we complain about politics, education, our finances, not having enough salt in our food... 

Wait, what?

hehe, OK, so this is the story of how I got to this subject:

Every Friday dinner, my dad gives his judgment about the level of salt in his food- is it too salty, not salty enough or just perfect?

I don't think he's aware that he's doing it regularly, it's just a habit of his (and many other people)- to complain. 

The thing is, when there is not enough salt in my dad's food, he will NEVER add any. He would eat it, complain that it's not flavored enough, and refuse to add any of the missing salt. 

I find this attitude not only baffling, but also pretty negative for your happiness and potential of actually being content in life.

Because it's not just about food- this attitude is something a lot of us have following with us throughout life. The mentality that things are as they are, and we should just be content with them... Maybe sometimes complain about them. But never change them. 

We might be avoiding changing the problematic circumstances in our life because we feel powerless to change something that makes us feel bad, or maybe we don't even think we have the option to change life's circumstances. 

You know these things that have just "been like that your whole life"? and even if you would like to change it, you don't really see it as a realistic option? 

For me some of these things are being insecure, losing weight, having financial freedom... These are all things I've had an issue within one way or another my whole life. 

But it IS in my control to change them, and get to a place where I am happy with each of these areas in my life. And it is in your power and control to change anything you are unhappy within your life. 

Or at least stop complaining about it ;)

Where do you need to salt up your life, and what's stopping you? 

See you in the next post, 

Ruth


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Great perspective! Thanks! Seems to go right along with my Word Of The Day video today too! "Be Grateful". Again thanks for the reality check!

Thanks! I'll definately check your video out;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61292.26
ETH 3430.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51