Vlog #1 - Beginning A New Chapter in My Life | Don't Be Afraid of Taking a Little Risk!

in #onelovedtube6 years ago (edited)


I’ve been insanely nervous about putting this out there, but I made a commitment to myself that today was the day.

I made a commitment that I could leave my house until I filmed this first vlog and edited it. I’ve been putting it off for months.

if you’re wondering why I’m in a tank top, it’s because I was about to leave for the gym but then I realized that if I did, I would put off this vlog another day… So instead, I just told myself that I had to muscle through this mental exercise before I could get a physical workout in :)

I first decided that I wanted to start a vlog on the Steem blockchain several months ago. I bought all the camera equipment - drone, gimbal, tripod, lenses, software, etc. and I was all set to go.

I even filmed my very first vlog episode back when I got all the equipment, but I was too self-conscious when I played it back. It never made the cut and got uploaded to DTube or DLive unfortunately.

Around that same time, I had a major deal go through for my business which is the main thing that I work on day-to-day. The operations got far more intense than I ever expected it to and for the past several months, I’ve been working 12+ hour days growing the business and working with clients.

Recently, I’ve been wondering what the point is. What’s the point of growing this business and working so many hours if I can’t even take a real vacation, see the world or do many of the things that I enjoy the most - like reading, writing and being creative.

Casey Neistat released a video just a day or 2 ago and he was talking about the curse and blessing of ambition.

When you’re ambitious, you’re always driven to achieve more and do big things which will eventually lead to you accomplishing many of your goals. Ambitious people enjoy the process, they enjoy the grind. I’m one of those people.

Ambitious people also suffer a great curse - the curse of always being in motion. Like a shark swimming in the ocean, ambitious people can never stop moving. We have to continually find newer and bigger projects to work on and we’re always staying head down in these projects and working out butts off.

As Casey said in his video, ambition is great but only if you know yourself and know how to live life and enjoy your projects. You have to be able to balance your life and do both, otherwise, what’s the point in working so hard?

I also recently picked up one of the first books that I ever read (outside of the school system) which is called The Four Hour Workweek by Tim Ferriss.

This has been a long time favorite book of mine. It changed my life the first time I read it and it’s changing my life again as I’ve been re-reading it over the past few days.

In the book, Tim explains many of the issues that he had in the past with his business and work-life balance. He goes on to talk about how you can become a part of the “New Rich” and do so by changing the way you approach your business and life.

Tim has created an amazing world for himself. He’s able to be creative and release videos and podcasts about his journey and the teachings he learns from world-class performers.

He does what he loves to do each and every day and I’m sure that he wakes up extremely happy in the morning!

This is how I want to feel. I want to wake up each morning and share my journey with all of you. I want to be creative and travel the world and see what life really has to teach and offer me. I don’t want to just sit in the same town, day after day working on my business. That gets old and chasing 0’s does as well. Numbers on a screen aren’t everything. Life has so much to offer us if we just look up and pay attention.


I also managed to get the drone out this morning and capture a few cool shots. Hope you enjoyed them!!!

IMG_0540.jpg


Song


Hopefully, this vlog isn’t too rough for you too watch. I know it’s primitive and I will definitely improve in my skills as I make these things each day.

For now, please let me know in the comments what you’d like to see from me and what suggestions you have for improving the videos. I love feedback and I’ll be waiting to hear from you in the comments!

Thank you for your support and joining me on this new chapter in my life. It’s going to be exciting!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I hope your adventure to see other cultures and learn from them would be rewarding. There are so many things that we don't know if we don't get out of our comfort zone. Wish you the best.

Looking forward to seeing more of your content. I think you are correct. The blockchain has so much to offer and I think the future is bright. See you around more often I hope here on DTube ;)

Thank you!! I appreciate your support!!! I hope to see you around too, you've got some great videos here on DTube, I'll check them out and learn a thing or 2 about this biz ;)

Ah yes the first step is the most important. As you keep doing it, you will get better but you are right: we will support you as you start and refine and progress and support your supporters.

Not so rough afterall!

I agree!! It's scary and tough to take the first step, but progress all comes in due time!!

Thank you, I always appreciate your support! ;)

Excellent job man! So glad you followed through and made the vlog happen. I'm actually pleasantly surprised with how good the quality of this video is, I think you could do really well with this. I look forward to seeing what else you do in the future!

Thank you!! Your support means a lot! I honestly felt so free and like a huge weight lifted off my shoulders after filming and posting this first vlog. It's been something I've wanted to do for ages but never had the courage to! It was an extremely euphoric feeling to finally realize a dream of mine and just take the plunge!

Absolutely understand my friend 🙂 Now that the first one is under your belt, it’ll just get easier and easier. Can’t wait to see where you go with this!

Great start, good luck.

Congratulations! Look forward to following your journey.

Loved the drone shots.

This is the second reference I have seen to this book lately. I am going to have to read it. I rarely read books, mostly just read blogs like this, but the book seems like it could have some value. Good luck with your vlogs, that is an area where I am scared to venture as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66