A Misunderstanding

in #omiedove5 years ago (edited)

There are no elves
Working through the night
To surprise you with newly cobbled shoes in the morning

And there is no Santa
With an overstuffed bag of free toys
For the sweet and kind girls and boys

And there is no god watching you
And protecting you
And listening to your earnest prayers at night

The delusions are an escape
They're enveloping and give a feeling of safety and serenity
And I long to feel what I've felt

But there is no going back

And I met you and loved you instantly
With all your optimism, hope and spontaneity
And I knew you were sincere; I just knew...

But the naive are the hedonistic snacks of the cut-throat.
You called me a unicorn
But I sleep with a loaded gun at night.

And my head rests on my own arm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56790.06
ETH 2345.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42