8 of Omar Khayyam sayings

in #omarkhayyam7 years ago (edited)

Omar Khayyam was a Persian philosopher, poet, mathematician and astronomer.
These are my favorites of Omar Khayyam sayings. Most of them I translated from another language to English, because I couldn't find them in English:

To wisely live your life, you don't need to know much
Just remember two main rules for the beginning:
You better starve, than eat whatever
And better be alone, than with whoever.

Those who will rack their brains to find the answer
Might just as well try milking from a bull,
Or dress themselves in motley clown's attire,
For brains these days won't buy you even cabbage.

If a mill, a bath, a luxurious palace
Got a fool and a scoundrel as a present,
And the worthy goes to bondage because of bread -
I do not care about your justice, creator!

This cruel world exposes us to changes of
Desperate sorrows, ruthless torments.
Blessed is he who has not been in it for long and has gone,
And who did not come at all, even more blessed.

From the fear of death, I, - believe me, - very far:
Scarier than life, what did fate prepare for me?
I only got my soul on a rented time
And I will return it when the time comes.

If you have a nook to live
In our mean time and a piece of bread,
If you are not a servant to anyone, not a master -
You are happy and truly high in spirit.

It is known, in the world all is vanity of vanities:
Be merry, do not worry, the world stands on it.
What was, then passed, what will happen - it is not known,
So do not grieve about what is not today.

I asked the wisest: "What did you get
From your manuscripts? "And he spoke to me:
"Happy is he who is in the arms of a beautiful woman
At night from the wisdom of the books far away. "

Sort:  

thanks for information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26