Russia Just Had Their Last Participant Banned From RIO Olymipcs

in #olympics8 years ago (edited)

Darya Klishina, a single Russian athlete who had an exceptional permit for a start at Rio Olympics got banned too.

There's no exact reason given, but it's apparently related to doping. "In the light of new information", as was said by committee. Due to appeal, the case will be looked at again, and a final decision about the ban will be announced on Monday.

"I am appealing today’s decision by the IAAF Doping Review Board to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (Ad Hoc division in Rio) to ban me from the Rio Olympics and other IAAF sanctioned events thereafter. I am seeking an emergency hearing this weekend for a decision to be made as soon as possible by the highest court in sports about my eligibility in Rio.
I am a clean athlete and have proved that already many times and beyond any doubt. Based in the US for three years now, I have been almost exclusively tested outside of the Anti-Doping system in question. I am falling victim to those who created a system of manipulating our beautiful sport and is guilty of using it for political purposes.
I will take every possible effort to protect my clean image as an athlete. At this moment I cannot help but feel betrayed by a system that is not focused on keeping the sport clean and supporting rank-and-file athletes, but rather seeking victories outside sport arenas."

Place your bets: What are the odds of Russia winning a medal at Rio 2016?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55