You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Down on my Knees

in #oldtimers7 years ago

Does Lee have a nesting box? If not, one might entice her to lay the egg in it. If she does, then she's a picky one, isn't she? Chickens are funny creatures.
Are you going to replace your flock?

Sort:  

We have 2 nesting boxes and they have never been used. Since all our chickens have been free range they pick a spot and stick to it. For a few months we found none of her eggs until I kept her in the coop for a few days. Maybe a snake got them? I tried to trick her into using the nesting box but she prefers the hole she dug under the ramp.
She definitely has a mind of her own.
I am so hesitant to replace the flock because they would have to be cooped up all summer. We are thinking of getting guinea fowl but we'll have to wait until someone offers the keets. Maybe next spring.

They're cooped up keep them out of the garden, right? Oy. :) There's electric net fence made by premier one, for chickens, that's fairly easy to move around, so chickens can be out, but not get into places they shouldn't. I know--another expense... but an option.
I'm not trying to push you into more chickens! ! Really! ! :) It's heartbreaking when you've lost your girls. I know! Then the weighing of is it worth it or not. My husband, @goatgarden, did a blog a couple weeks ago about the fence.
The Frugal Homesteader Pt. 3 (Electric Net Fence) — Steemit
https://steemit.com/.../@goatgarden/the-frugal-homesteader-pt-3-electric-net- fence
I am not trying to promote him, just sharing info. :) He covers fence for goats, but the company makes fence for most farm animals.

We were just discussing what to do next and my husband (who may someday find the time to join up here as pdude) thought of a way that we could expand and cover a new chicken door and run. Then there would be more room for more chicks next year and they would be protected from all those flying predators that like our neighborhood.
I do follow your husband already.
Thanks.

Good luck! ! And in the meantime, i hope Lee stays safe. :)

Thanks. I think with this kind of learn as you go life style luck does have a big part in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55