Girl crying portrait

in #oldart2 years ago

6.png

I was wondering what would be good to draw today. For a moment there i thought of drawing a character because i was watching this video on youtube about character designing. But then i came across this picture and decided to draw that.
Although i change too much from the reference photo. specially the colors. I changed the entire colors. I just thought of going with a variety of colors. So at the beginning i just placed a few different colors on the face. and then blurred the whole thing and started shading on top of that.

I thought if i just go with black colored eyes i won't have worry about too much. Well, i was wrong. Painting that kind of an eye is even harder than i thought. that was so messy and so weird. at first i didn't know how to make that look 3d, because just plain black color would make that look flat. that's not what i was going for. Did a little bit of experiment with some lighting and then i think it turned out better.

The reference photo has crystalized tears, and i went with black to match with the eyes and the eyelashes of course.
I have no idea why i did that thing with the lips but i also painted a nose ring but that looked way too weird so hid the layer before saving.
Before adding the highlights the face was looking really pale and dull. I don't like those so i added some color dodges. I just love color dodge. They create such beautiful textures. Sometimes i use a little too much of them, but for me too much shine is never too much shine.

Used Reference Image for structure and style.
Here are some process shots of the painting:

Screenshot 1452.png

Screenshot 1453.png

Screenshot 1454.png

Screenshot 1455.png

Screenshot 1456.png

Screenshot 1457.png

Screenshot 1458.png

Screenshot 1459.png

Screenshot 1460.png

Screenshot 1461.png

6.png
Thank you for visiting my blog
Follow me to see more of my art in your feed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46