My Entry for OlaivArt Contest - Theme 1: Woman

in #olaivartwoman6 years ago

This is my entry for the contest organized by @olaivart, the theme of the contest is woman. This initiative is good for me because it helps me back to traditional drawing. The last time i draw traditionally is last on 2016 for assignment purpose. It feels good to draw traditionally and i have a lot of fun.
Theme-I----Woman.png

Here is my entry :
5.jpg

Title : Beauty
Media : Charcoal on paper
Size : A3

Artist statement :
I choose subject wearing hijab to show women who wear hijab is much more beautiful than who do not. Plus I admire them because they can wear it whole day without complain about it. That is the beauty i find.

Drawing Process:

Once i have my the picture i want then i need to decide which material i need to use. I am pretty confident with pencils because I am familiar with it but this time i want to challenge myself use something different which is charcoal to celebrate New Year with new determination to start drawing again.

I start the work with pencil first. 2B to be exact. I start draw the outline without any shading. I avoid shading because it helps me to adjust or change if there is anything wrong with the proportion.
1.jpg

Then I start shades at the eye part. I am much comfortable starts with the eyes first. Probably been used to this since I was a kid. I try to be more careful at the eyes because i want to make it detail as possible. But it somehow turns not so great but then i moved on.
3.jpg

I start to shade the other area. Now i am more confident to put more darker tone than before. Using charcoal test your confidents in your skill and determination. I am so scared it might turns bad in the early stage but now I already gain confidence. I start enjoy shading without worry how it might end up. If there are any parts that i find to dark, I use eraser to lighten up the tone.
4.jpg

Well I am pretty satisfied with it and continue to shade the tudung(hijab). And thats it the final results.
5.jpg

This the whole process in GIF:
contest.gif

Thanks you for reading this and feel free to leave a comment or any advice I can use in the future. That will be much appreciated. Any of you guys feels like to join just check out @olaivart. Thank you again and see you again in the upcoming post.

Sort:  

Good drawing :) I also participated in this contest. Best of luck to both of us :)

Thanks man! appreciate it and yea all the best to both of us. XD

eeee abang ni pro la, nnti nk mcd

boleh2 np

@joii Great work! Would love to know some tips!

thanks! idk about anyone else but i think the most essential things that can help greatly in drawing is develop your observation skill. Study your subject matter. The characteristic of the subject. How it really looks like, the tone, the shape etc. Hope this helps and have fun while drawing! XD

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @joii to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Epic ah Abam nih XD

maceh2 XD

Hey, your portrait it's so cool. I like it so much! Good luck in the contest :D I'm participing too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60796.54
ETH 3365.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50