Back To The Roots: Family Time At The OktoberfeststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #oktoberfest7 years ago

Your branches can only reach high if your roots go deep. - Brian Logue

I couldn't agree more, Brian.

It's important to remember where we come from.

A solid ground is the perfect condition for personal development. That's why I love to travel to my home country in order to live some good old traditions and customs with my family and friends.

Cheers to our roots! 🍺

@surfermarly having her first 1L beer at the Oktoberfest 2017

O'zapft is!

That's what Munich's Lord Mayor shouts out once he has pounded the very first beer barrel and like that inaugurated the Oktoberfest.

Participating in the Bavarian traditions means being at home to me. I love wearing this dress, listening to the bands playing typical music and having a great time with my family and friends.

Wearing these traditional costumes, everybody looks handsome.

Women bring out their female curves and men underline their masculine shape.

@surfermarly with her "little" brother Max

Besides the traditions, the Oktoberfest is a huge playground.

Being the world largest public festival, you can spend the whole day walking around, buying funny souvenirs and riding the attractions.

To drink the traditional Oktoberfest beer you need to go inside one of the tents. The festival beer has more alcohol than the regular Bavarian beer, so it's also important to eat.

Whatever your plans are, a lot of fun is always guaranteed!

Having fun with my brother at the festival ground

Family time is quality time!

Spending time with the most important people in my life is still the very best way of refilling my happiness account.

Since I don't have them close all the time, I travel to see them every now and then.

So this week I'm in Munich, enjoying the cold weather.

The next time I travel, it'll be to attend Steemfest in Lisbon. I'm already very excited. The countdown has started!

See you soon!
Marly -



Original content, pictures taken by myself.

Sort:  

Hey there @surfermarly...
I see you're following our @teamsouthafrica community... Just wondering, are you a South African (or expat) by any chance??

Hey! No I'm not a South African, I'm German 😉 But I was invited to follow the team so I did.

Ah... Awesome!! My daughter is actually in Germany - she's staying in Berlin... Which part of Germany you from?

For sure another one for my wall - glad you are here. Working on post No. 3 today for #oktoberfest

You're the professional Wiesn visitor here!!! 😄👍 Thanks for the resteem!!! See you soooon 😉

Not a pro, I still decline to wear Lederhosn - just posted some tipps for your visits @surfermarly

Haha - I've got both Lederhosn + Dirndl 😉

I love beer and I love that outfit!
Nice job!
Hope to share a great beer with you at SteemFest!

SteemON!

Haha, thanks! Sure, we gonna have a lot of these beers at Steemfest! 😉
See you there.

Yea it will be BeerFest TWO hahahahaha

I'll be prepared! Haha

hahahhahaha YEA!!!!!

Are you a being a heart breaker at Octoberfest @sufermarley 😂🍺💔

lol - I don't know what you're talking about...😇😎😄

Shhh, I'll keep it on the down low 🤣😋

Haha - sure! 😉👌

did I just read the comment "Crazy Germans" here? Well, looks like someone got it right lol without beeing at least a little crazy, there is no way to manage drinking more than 1 Masskrug of beer, eating a Haxn with Sauerkraut and Semmelknödel and a Brezn, then wiping your hands off on your Lederhosn (they never have to be washed)... :-) Bavarians are a special spicies, I was married to one once and we are still close friends! Most important sentence is: Ah, mei, des passt scho! thanks for your post and the great pics! upvoted, resteemed and Cheers from Germany

Hahaha, great comment! Thanks for the laughter - and your support 😉
You are totally right: it requires a certain insanity to eat and drink all that stuff. I'm back home again now and will be on diet for a couple of days, LOL.

Des passt scho! (works always)
Have a great weekend!!!

Hope you had a great time here :-) an Italian saying is "sono pazzi questi tedesci".... cheers from the seven mountains in Germany - if you are around this region, make sure to call in - "Hello in the house" is the key :-)

oktoberfest steemit.jpg
Cheers und Prost!

Haha, nice one! So YOU are the last German then? 😉
Ist das im Schützen?

Jo, ist im Armbrustschützenzelt. 1. Tag. War sogar beim Anstich dabei. Frohe Wiesn wünsch ich! wie wäre es mit einem Dirndl Special auf dem Surfbrett?! :D

Looks like an awesome time! See ya in Lisbon :)

It is 😉 See you there!!

Steht dir sehr gut ein Dirndl :-) bzw. Fesch schauts aus ;-)
Pin ich doch glatt bei mir an.

Ui, vielen lieben Dank!!! Der Kommentar war mir irgendwie durchgerutscht, Verzeihung 😉
Ich könnte IMMER Dirndl tragen - es ist super bequem und jede Frau schaut toll darin aus. Ist bloss beim Surfen nicht soooo praktisch, haha!

Hab ein tolles Wochenende, Jochen 😊

Macht doch nichts. Ist ja wirklich nicht einfach einen Kommentarüberblick zu behalten, geht mir auch so.
Dir auch ein schönes WE :-)

Das stimmt allerdings 😉
Dankeschön!!! Hier ist es total windig, wird also heute nix mit Surfen... Couchtag ist nach dem Oktoberfest-Marathon aber eh ganz passend, hehe.

omg this is so cute!!! Looks like so much fun with your brother! Have a beer for me! :)

Hehe, thank you!!! We were having such a great time 😉

I missed your surfboard in this post.

Haha, I guess I wouldn't have passed the security carrying a surfboard 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82