Untitled Self Portrait | Oil on Canvas Paper

in #oilpainting7 years ago

This is probably one of my favorite self portraits that I have created. Originally a (quick) project for my painting class, this piece came to be an important stepping stone towards my personal artistic style.

Untitled-2.png

This painting is actually really small, marking at a perfect four by four inch piece. The darker reds on the right side of the piece actually come off the page (.25inch-.5inch) to imitate a bloody wound. Most of my brush strokes come off the page (I forgot the term for this), and imitate Impressionist era artwork! Impressionism is actually my favorite era in art history and I find the roughness of these brush strokes and lack of realism to be beautiful!

This piece was also very much inpsired by my obsession with Rage Against the Machine..

What are your favorite eras of art?

Sort:  

I can’t tell if you’re being serious or if this is a cry for help. I’ll upvote it though just in case.

It's got a spooky feel to it.
I really like Art Nouveau style. However, my favorite printer has Albrecht Durer. He did some crazy stuff.

I haven't gotten to explore his world much, but I do love his woodcut prints! After saying that, I can realize why you like Durer!

Ya. to do that with wood is insane! His etchings are pretty bad ass too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50