Fumoto oil drain valve for your car or truck, easier oil changes?

in #oilchange6 years ago

This is my review of the Fumoto oil drain valve for your car, truck. The drain valve replaces the current drain bolt on your car which makes oil changes easier as you do not need to remove the bolt and replace the crush washer.

You need to find the correct drain valve for your car/truck, so head over to the Fumoto.com website and input your make, model and year from the pull down menus
fumoto.jpg

You will see all of the valves available for you car, some have an extended fitting so you can place a drain tube on it for a direct drain into a waste container. Some are angled at 90* so they are not as low to the ground.
drainvalve.jpg

Here is a shot of the one on my 2000 Toyota Tacoma.
fumotodrain.JPG

I connected a 3/8" tube and ran it directly into a 1 gallon discard jug.
connect.JPG

You just open the valve 1/4 turn and the oil starts draining. In my first attempt, the oil was draining quite slow, so I started the engine as it was around 11am in the morning and the oil was probably on the cold side which makes it a bit think.
I attempted to drain it again and it was draining a bit faster, but still slow??? I don't think I warmed the truck up enough, I just waited for the temp gauge to move up a little before shutting the engine off.
opendrain.JPG

I had the oil fill cap off and took off the oil filter so there was no vacuum holding the oil in. So I removed the valve and looked through it as I thought it may have been clogged. Nope... The diameter of the valve is much smaller than the actual drain hole, so it does drain slower...
hole.JPG

Here is my valve that I have, it fits all 4th generation tacoma's...
IMG_2254.JPG

So I ended up draining the oil like I had a drain plug in which was disappointing..... I purchased this valve so I would not have to remove the drain plug. Replace the filter with an OEM one and filled up with 100% synthetic.
filloil.JPG

The fumoto valves are very affordable at $22-$30 on Amazon. You can read all of the stellar reviews over there as well.

The one thing that I will do differently next time is drive around the block to heat up the oil as that was most likely the issue I had. The viscosity of the oil is too think when it is cool and when it needs to exit out of a small hole, it is really slow. Lesson learned...

I can't give the Fumoto valve a grade yet as my experience may have been user error.

Sort:  

Nice information provided. Good post. Thanks for sharing such a informative post.

Hi glenn,

Looks like a good invention to not to get dirty when opening a bolt.
I am sure you had that experience where the oil drip down you arm after not moving the bolt fast enough as it was coming off the last part of the thread.
I wonder how well the value will hold up and not leak later on as the oil get hot in the pan and wear n tear under the vehicle?

I've read good reviews on this valve with no leaking after 5+ years. I've had oil running down my arm as well, which is one reason I got this valve. It is much cleaner.

Thanks for the review.
Some cars have the oil pan sitting lower. in these instances I would be afraid it can be damaged when going over obstacles.
I like a magnetic drain plug. It gives me an opportunity to check if there are any (ferrous) deposits even if by the time you find them may be just too late.
Another option would be a Motive type fluid transfer pump if you want to do a clean-er job.
Thanks for sharing!

You got a 3.16% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @glennolua!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49