What In The World Could It BE?!!--"He Got It Right" ~ The Big Reveal To A Simple Guessing Game ~ Original Photograph of Original Find and Short Discussion of Said Find ~

in #oh-whatintheworlditis5 years ago (edited)

P1170757-2 277kb.jpg






- § -





Original Post

What In The World Could It BE?!! ~ A Simple Guessing Game To Win One SBD

What In The World Is It?

I can't tell you that. OK, NOW I can. I've received some pretty creative guesses as to what these little circular things might be. And lo and behold....@ocrdu GUESSED IT!! Congratulations @ocrdu, you've won one (1) SBD for coming up with the correct answer.



How This This Small Guessing Game Came About

Walking across a local church parking lot on Wednesday, I discovered a bunch of odd discs and small squares scattered all OVER the place. They were everywhere in the center of the lot, surrounded by obvious burn marks in the asphalt and some odd residue. What in the world went on here last night? Upon closer look, the discs were made of cardboard, and had a small hole poked in the center of each one.

My first, and most obvious thought: Some sort of Alien activity went on in this parking lot last night. Possibly listening devices that got dumped accidentally, in larger numbers than intended when their space conveyance made a hard landing. The burned stuff is leftover exhaust residue from a saucer engine in dire need of a tune-up.

Or, more likely: There was a very brief, very violent ray-gun battle in the lot over parking space, or some other such new-visitor disagreement. These little cardboard discs and all the burned stuff must be the resulting weapon residue. Much like burned cordite and spent shell casings, or 'wads' from muzzle-loader ray weapons, like the older days here on Earth. This whole situation cried out for more deep sleuthing.





- § -







What I Found

P1170511-1 333kb.jpg

A Real Parking Lot Mess



P1170549 382kb.jpg

Space Mayhem Residue-Let's Collect All These Discs...They Gotta Be Good For SOMETHING



P1170514-2 318kb.jpg

This Is Looking Less And Less Like Space-Based Activities

Someone ran over the mess, and spread it all around. Maybe that's how they put out the burning spots. Seems like you might start your car on fire doing this sort of extinguishment. Time for more investigation.



P1170534-2 298kb.jpg

"Please Report Anything Suspicious to SOMEBODY "

Further away, over in the bushes, I discovered a large box. It was burned pretty badly, and looked to be homemade, taped together with electrical tape. With lots of long tubes. Hmmm, next thought: "What IS this thing? Closer perusal led to more discovery...



P1170506-1 332kb.jpg

Ah HAAAAh, Some Sort Of Pyrotechnic Device

So THAT'S what this big mess is all about. My training in forestry work suggested leaving it alone, as it might blow me up. But on closer look, the box looked pretty 'spent'. Though I didn't mess with it. It still looked homemade. And the little discs appear to fit in the ends of the tubes, which suggests store-bought. Who has time to hand or machine mill all those discs, just to blow them up or burn them? Another 'ping in the brain' moment arrived:





- § -





The Final Answer To Our "What In The World It Could Be" Question

EW1_0983-1 311kb.jpg

New Year's Recognition Detritus

Taken from an earlier moment in time on the bike path -July 4, 2018

Someone was out celebrating the New Year, and this was their DIY way to do it. Though I think this thing was purchased, and just LOOKS kind of homemade, after blowing itself up and burning out the night before. FIREWORKS - that's what the little discs are for. They fit into the tubes and blow out, once it's time for the big show.

Congratulations once more to @ocrdu for getting the answer right. It was a hard one, for sure. The whopping one (1) SBD will be on it's way soon.

Thanks to everyone for playing, it was fun, and you all had such great ideas. My second thought when I found them (after the Alien thing), was on the sanding discs and hole-saw guesses as well. Lots of other great ideas sprang forth too. Clock parts, washers from sinks and such, and I liked the fishing pole repair suggestion, though I'm not a fisherperson-so didn't think of that. There was even a shower curtain guess. How creative is that? They were ALL great ideas everyone put forth.

Thanks for participating in the game. Here's all the folks that played along, and suggested what in the world these things might be: @blacklux, @digitalis, @doctorcrypto, @jschindler, @kimberlylane, @koskl, and @ocrdu.

Onward, to more contests in the future. Just as soon as I can find oddly-weird things in parking lots and creeks and fields and such. Have a most wonderful Saturday in Steemitville, and a Happy New Year.



Thanks for stopping in and viewing my very first What In The World Could It Be? challenge. If you have any thoughts about guessing games on Steemit, any new ideas on how to run a contest (first of this sort), other guessing games on the Internet, potential leftover Alien parking lot messes, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 01/5/2019 @ 12:42



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 111

Capture Not used snipped from Swagger.PNG

Sort:  

Good observation and great investigation! I felt as if I was reading Sherlock Holmes story…..

It would be very much exciting if these things belong to Alien from Mars! ;D

Well done, as always! ;)

I'm sorry I missed your little guessing game. Trying to juggle art schedule, needy friends, and then feeling a bit under the weather, I haven't been able to keep up. And what a challenge it should have been.

My first thought was sanding discs as I've a few hand sanders I've used for projects (both house and art) and some of them are round like doughnuts.

Then I thought, maybe it WAS doughnuts from a parallel dimension that is only 2 dimensional? Who can say?

Hope your New Year is shaping up (and not just circles)

I think I should have left this 'open' a bit longer, and given fewer clues at first. I'm new at this sort of thing. I know folks often don't even see a post of their 'peeps' for many days. Time and voting strength to consider and all. So, next time I will leave it longer, then you can guess. Though I like your idea...small alien doughnuts. Never thought of that one either. Classic.

My life is going along well, slowing down a bit, giving me time to get back on here some more. Which I love. Time to get back to more writing. I so enjoy messing about on Steemit. And talking with friends such as yourself. At one time I thought it might become a bit more of a money maker, but it's gone now to more of an impetus for creativity and learning new writing 'things'. Which I love in it's own right. And that has always been the real motivation on here anyway. Just never been much of a driven person. Shoot for the bronze, I always say ( :

Hope you are doing well and not getting too sopping wet. Is there any snow or ice there? Is there ever? Well, have a nice day in merry England. And say hello and a head pat to the curleyhaired pooch for me. (His name escapes me at the moment, and I'm too lazy to go look. Ardvin? No, that's not it....) Cheerio(s)

Aha! That means @ocrdu knows how to make that thing!!

Hmm, I bet you're right...possible future, noisy mayhem in Enschede ( :

I deny everything.

That's convenient!

Here here, though once he's done, we probably won't be able to hear hear ( :

I knew I had seen those before!
Great contest DD!

They do have a familiar look, don't they. Probably from seeing them all over the road now and then after special days. I know I wouldn't have placed where I'd seen them before either, without my contextual knowledge. Thanks for being in the contest, it was fun to do. Hope to come up with more one of these days. Have a nice Sunday.

who would have thought ....

They were a bit tricky. Thanks for being in the contest. Hope to do more in the future. Have a nice day today. It's raining here, so maybe a bit more Steemit will get done ( :

my pleasure. i like brain teasers. you have a nice day too!

No way! I was certain it was alien currency! I really thought their small spacecraft had crashed and burned and their valuable money was scattered around the lot LOL!

Ha haa, I like that one even better. Maybe they carry it around on little sticks or martian shower curtain hooks on their utility belts. You crack me up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80