You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living in Luxury Off the Grid - For We Who Hunger for Power! (part 1)

in #offthegrid7 years ago

How much did the pelton wheel cost, or if it came with the house (so you don't know) ... let's say (god forbid) it broke, how much would the same one cost to replace?

Sort:  

I directed this question to my husband. His reply:

It came with the house so I don't really know.
It's cast bronze and semi-custom made so probably a lot to replace the entire wheel.
The biggest problem is wear and would come from sand in the water, causing the soft bronze to erode. So it's vital to filter the intake.
The only problem I've had was it coming loose on the shaft, so I had it apart once to machine the end to accept a QD bushing. These are very handy for attaching gears, belts, or wheels onto shafts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45