What's your favourite cheap 4x4?

in #offroading7 years ago (edited)

I currently own a 1992 Isuzu Bighorn (Trooper in the USA)

It has about 130000 miles and gets between 20-25 mpg. Not bad... for a tank.

I painted mine with Rust-Oleum® Khaki. It's the exact same colour as dried mud, therefore I never need to wash it again. The only thing I don't like about Troopers is the lack of a differential lock. It would be seriously improved if you could lock the front wheels.

It's also very heavy and loves to sink on loose surfaces, I think a wider tire would help.

I think the trooper works best as an adventure vehicle, with at least one other 4x4. It has amazing carrying capacity and comfort, it's also got a high degree of survivability, with bash plates on almost all the important running gear.

The main problem is the skinny tires and high weight. If you stop on a low traction surface, it doesn't take long to bog down to the floorboards.

I took four of the 7 seats out of mine, and it still weighs almost 5000 pounds.

It also has a limited range of about 370 miles. For this reason I carry a 4 gallon can for extended trips.

The highest points are the suspension, and the torque at high altitude. Once you're 3000 feet or so above sea level, the turbo really helps. With the lotus handling package, it will drift the tail before even hinting at a roll over. I don't know how it got a reputation for being prone to rollover. It has excellent handling characteristics for its size, weight and ride height.

The long wheel base, and generous interior room makes it an excellent adventure vehicle, I get a fullsized bed, and all the camping equipment I need in the back without effort.

Future modifications will be, a winch and a separate deep cycle battery with solar panels.

Let me know about your favourite work horse in the comments below!

Sort:  

My favourite 4x4 that I have owned was a 89 Tracker, was underpowered and rode like she was built on rails...but she was a lot of fun offroad, couldn't get it stuck.

My current outback travel mate is a 1997 Toyota Landcruiser 80 series.
I guess any 4x4 will be a good travel companion as long as you love bush travel, getting away from the cities.
I've been going bush for the last 35 years (In Africa and now in Australia). Recently started my Steemit blog. Check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50