The Guinea Keets went Offgrid!

in #offgrid6 years ago

Hope y'all are not getting tired of my critter posts. Always something going on at the homestead and right now they are IT. LOL

Miss Imma decided that she only wants one child. Now I want y'all to know it was nothing I planted in that mind of hers. I'm wishing I had ten kids instead of one to share the love and the load but hey, it's her choice.

But that meant the keets had to get a new mom..... Enter @SugarCreek

Having a broody hen was an ideal time for me to slip the much wanted guinea into the flock because mom does all the work.... Well once again I had to get creative.

I found some fuzzy blankets and made them a tent house to sleep in. I line it with Gatorade bottles that I repurposed into hot water bottles.

I do have to go out twice a night and replace them but I think they are more than worth the extra work.

I also think they are thriving.
I haven't figured out Dtube yet and I had to share!

I had errands in town so I downloaded it, you can watch it here

Thank you for stopping by
@SugarCreek

Sort:  

howdy today @sugarcreek! man those little things are cute. But I was shocked at much they eat! and they grow so dang fast..and eat even more! lol. And loud! wow that's going to be a rowdy place around there..
thank you sugarcreek and God bless you all!

Yes they will be Lively additions

THAT is a good start on a flock! You can't have too many critters on a homestead.
I enjoy your posts, so keep them coming! :)

Thank you!! When I go to pick up those baby goats in a few weeks I will tell my husband you said that. hehe hehe

I have a terrible tick problem on my land that we are trying to move to. My last visit there resulted in 100 or so bites. Very dangerous. I need to get them under control before I move my animals there. So the plan is....you know how plans are...but anyway...the plan is to build to a large flock so when I go in to build fence i will take Guinea with me. Me and them will go prepare the land for the rest of the family. i need about 100 so I will get more but these are my first ones and I just adore them.

Chiggers? OH NO! I sprayed last year late, because they were eating me! I want to hatch and release quail, a couple of hundred will clear out the entire area.

Fence the Goats, or they will climb on your cars! :)

My horses will climb the cars and have! It's all good.
I'm getting two girls to train to pull carts, help me with grass control and milking.

Yeah, the chiggers favored my husband. But he got some ticks to. I know my critter posts seem silly to some people. I really do love my animals. But my plan is that everything and everybody is multipurpose. Everyone has more than one job with intertwined connected purpose... I really do have a plan and God willing it will come together.

Horses on the cars is a lot worse than goats! WOW!

Chiggers just about killed me! I had several hundred bites, and was not able to sleep for days.

I can tell you have planned, you know what you need, and which to start with to make it work. :D

Yes we have planned for a long time. My husband had a hospital stay last year that set us back but we are pushing forward. Thank you so much for your comments and support

We share a similar journey, so what small help I can be, you are welcome to! Be hard headed, that seems to be the best homesteading tool! :D

In fact, I just got Debbie home from the Hospital; 8 days ago. >:(

I hope she is doing well. Prayers for a speedy recovery!

I came to your post because @coinsandchains featured your post in the Payitforward curation contest. His post is located here;
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@coinsandchains/payitforward-week-17-my-entry

The Payit forward curation contest is located here;
https://steemit.com/contest/@thedarkhorse/looking-back-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-17-c280a606eeb7eest

Thank you so much

Just popped over from the @pifc/ pay it forward to say hello. Looks like you have your hands full with babies.

They are keeping me busy!
Thank you so much for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49