I Love Technological Advancements BUT What Have We Lost?

in #offgrid6 years ago

Untitled Design (7).jpg

Today we unexpectedly had our electricity cut off for some maintenance work on a supply pole outside our house. Given that the engineers had to be in and out of the house to check the system all day, I had to work from home for the day.

It's just hit 14:30 and - having been busy tapping away on my laptop to do my work using my mobile phone's 4G as a WiFi hotspot - my phone has just died. Out of charge. And I can't charge it up as we've...errrr... no electricity.

Uh-oh, and the afternoon is but young...

Having said that, despite not even being 3pm yet, it's a dull and soggy day outside so it's already pretty dark in the house. I have the log-burner chugging away in the background. Throwing out much-needed heat - and a little light as a bonus. The dog is also snuggled up in front of it. Dozing.

I also have a candle burning. And my journal open. And a fountain pen. And.....I feel like I've just stepped back in time.

No mobile phone. No internet. No artificial light. Just candles. No artificial heat. Just a log-burner and candles.

It is so peaceful. I feel like a kind of pressure has been relieved. I am off-grid. I am kind of liking it.

I love technological advancements but sometimes I wonder what have we lost in the process?

Sort:  

Hi Steve at least it is not regular like our lot here. Any excuse to cut it and when it goes it's an all nighter these days.

Wow, I suppose we take it for granted here in the UK that it's the exception rather than the norm. Must be a nightmare for you.

Posted using Partiko Android

We've lost a lot. Digital technology rules our lives so much that we don't know how to live in our own families and natural environment anymore. I've covered how we can potentially leave this matrix and get back to the finer roots of life here.

Thanks for your comment. So true. Enjoyed your post

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @stevelivingston!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.869 which ranks you at #11617 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 21 places in the last three days (old rank 11638).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 276 contributions, your post is ranked at #204.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73