You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About My Solar Array, Battery Bank, Winter Power Source & Water Setup

in #offgrid7 years ago

nice! looks like you've got a good working setup! we're new to solar as well. it can be tricky at times, especially when it isn't working right LOL but feels so much better than being grid tied... i laughed when i saw that little goaty in the picture with the generator. sweet little guy!

Sort:  

Thanks!! My struggles have mostly been during winter when solar is not producing and ultimately I use more power during the winter because there isn't as much to be done outside. Gasification is something that has piqued my interest for some time. It's where you produce power from burning wood. I may do a post about it! Thanks for stopping by ^_^

we were struggling until a couple days ago as only half of our system had been working for some time (and we kept putting it off and putting it off -fixing it)... so much less sun in winter on average, but when it is out, it does bring it in abundantly!

cool! yeah my partner met someone who was doing a wood gasifier- he's talked about it ever since, but it hasn't made it on any to-do list! i'll look forward to your post on that ;)

I saw that post! I really enjoy all your posts haha. You have a lot of solar panels, I imagine that helps in the winter. I get more than enough from the panels I have the rest of the year but more panels would mean less generator usage in winter. Hopefully I can find the same deal I got on these panels! A big issue too is when we get 2'+ dump of snow in a single day. It's a lot to clear off for generally only 50ish watts it produces. I was more motivated to obtain/make a gasifier when I was surrounded by endless trees but it's still pretty cool. They can even run vehicles! Steam would be another cool one to work with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57241.75
ETH 2428.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40