You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Off Grid Coffee Maker

in #offgrid6 years ago

what a great post and morning routine!!
I did not know that the milk was grassy. I like the thought of it being that way for the little ones. 'Tricking' them into eating their greens :)

I am a little nervous about the whole goat milk thing. Excited, but what to do with it all with no refrigeration. how did they do it in the old days?

I don't do 6 am well....LOL Kudos to you for that! If I am a minute past 7:30, Lucy starts banging on the barn door. :)

I am glad that you got the pictures to load. :) always love to see fellow off gridders pictures and stories!

Sort:  

Milking a goat for the first year is a bit tricky. Their teats are so small it is finger and thumb milking. As you milk her they will get longer and you will be able to use two fingers. After the second year is is much eaiser. It takes patience. We are working on saving up for a milking machine. There is one on the market for $250 I think. It will milk a liter at a time. You hook it up to a 1 L jar. It also has a battery so it is perfect for off grid living. I was thinking about using one of my 2L jars at the height of milking. I am not sure how will it would work on first time mama, if you were thinking about getting one.

I am a morning person. It is difficult because I can get up easily at 5 am but then I cannot stay up late. When we have company I have a hard time sometimes beause most people can stay up until 10 or 11. I usually don't go outside to do my morning chores until about 7:30. I want to keep the animals on a consistant time. If I am not here then who ever is watching the farm doesn't have to get out there so early.

I am glad I was able to get the pictures loaded as well. Blogging is better with pictures. We just can't use facebook to load the pics anymore. Which is fine with me.

I haven't even looked into a milker! Lol maybe next year. I hope she has a girl. :)

I am so with you about fb. When i was denied/censored sending a message about steem months ago. That was it for me.

I can't wait to see what Lucy has. I hope it is a girl as well. It would be good to have two girls.

I never thought about a milking machine either because I thought they would cost more. Now that I know it is a goal that I can achieve it makes it better. Sometimes my arms get tired of milking so much. I love it but I am finding my wrists need a break. Especially when I am milking more than 4 goats twice a day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.68
ETH 3234.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65