The Song of the Endangered FL Sandhill Crane is a Duet~!

in #off-grid8 years ago

 My favorite neighbor, living off-grid and trying my best to be sustainable, is the Florida Sandhill Crane. They are beautiful creatures with distinct red foreheads who always travel in pairs. I have heard their song dozens of times at all hours during the day, but never succeeded in recording it because it is so short and unpredictable. I’ve been digging up the dirt near my RV in order to start a proper garden. I’m guessing this is causing many of the insects to appear because the cranes have been boldly coming closer and closer to feed. Well today, I finally succeeded. The video is a bit poor, but their song is loud.  

I have even tried to mimic their song on many occasions but never came even close. After the recording, I watched it over and over and noticed that it is a duet~! This endangered species always travels with his or her mate so that they can properly sing together. What a wonderful experience to watch and hear their beautiful song. Zoom in on their long beaks and you can see for yourself how they sing. I’ll end with a shot of my first rainbow here and this morning’s beautiful sunrise. Until next time~! 

Sort:  

Congratulations @topchun! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50