Preditor vs. Prey: Nature’s Way of Handling It

in #off-grid8 years ago

There are creatures that have adapted in various ways in order to fend off threats. We know some of the more common actions or characteristics such as camouflaging animals or creatures that have defense mechanisms like nasty squirts in the form of foul odors.  I’m coming to you almost live from Demacho Farms living off-grid, but I don’t think my sacrifices are nearly as comparable to say…ppl living in little houses on prairies. I was so amazed and intrigued yesterday that I rushed to post this.

 

The weather cleared up a bit so I decided to clear this little area of grass for my crop to be… 

The grass roots are about 10 inches deep so I was hammering down hard with my Ames hoe/cultivator. BTW. This company was established in 1774 and it was shocking to read this on the handle because it is very rare to see products from any company so old here in the States. As I was working hard, or hardly working, I noticed the guy above so I rushed to grab my phone. After taking various shots and videos, I zoomed in on the pic above and first noticed its legs clinging onto the grass blades. How cool~! I never knew caterpillars have distinct ‘legs’. Then I was trying to see if the marking on its head were its eyes. I figured they weren’t and noticed that the spots on its body looked very much like actual eyes. Mother Nature has such deliberate way of achieving her goals. Simple, repeating marks on this guy looked like menacing eyes~! Zoom in and you’ll be amazed too. Don’t forget to zoom in on the mouth. Those aren’t markings, they’re claws or tentacles. Oh, then there’s his funny red tail…  

 

He provided me a nice little break and I managed to complete my task just minutes before the storm hit. 

I’ll sign off today with a sunrise I deem worthy of posting. See you next time~! 

Sort:  

Howdy! Brian here, co-founder of Demacho Farms. I believe what you've found there is Ceratomia undulosa larva or more commonly the caterpillar of the Waved Sphinx moth. See if you can find a moth like this next:

Source: Discover Life Caterpillar Tool

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50