Off Grid Solar Powered Washing Machine

in #off-grid7 years ago

I am running our washing machine fully on solar panels costing us absolutely nothing for a load of laundry.

We have the Best Choice Products portable washing machine which is getting rave reviews in the RV and camping groups. This thing is light weight and very powerful. You can find them on Amazon here: Portable Washing Machine

They are under $100 and very much worth it for the quality.

I took the washing machine out to my off grid electronics work shop where I have 4 solar panels feeding 8 golf cart batteries. This provides all the power I need to run my electronics experiments, charge up devices and batteries and it powers my entire off grid wood shop.

I ran an extension cord from the power inverter to the washing machine. I put the washing machine on a pallet to keep it off the ground.

I use a 5 gallon bucket to fill the portable washing machine after loading the laundry in. This machine looks small but takes a decent sized load of clothes.

I run my washing machine for 6 minutes and then soak the clothes for a while in between wash cycles.

When the washing is done I put half the clothes in the spin side for two minutes. The clothes come out amazingly dry considering that this little machine only uses 240 watts to spin the clothes.

The washing side only uses 120 watts of power. This means that only one of my solar panels is needed to power this little washing machine.

The solar power battery bank was in float mode when I started to wash the clothes. This means that the batteries were fully topped off. When I was done washing, the batteries were still in float mode.

This is the perfect off grid portable washing machine.

You can watch the video here:

Please Subscribe & follow my daily YouTube videos

Read my articles at The Do It Yourself World

Troy
The Do It Yourself World
The Off Grid Project

CHECK OUT OUR OTHER CHANNELS:

Off Grid Homesteading With Melanie

The Do It Yourself World Electronics

TR Tech Tactical & Survival

Join our Patreon account for special videos and footage, prizes, gifts and more

Watch, comment and earn money on my steem channel

Sort:  

Turks, what’s the advantage doing this out in the spank shed rather than in the chalet, you gave us the impression it was all off grid. Seems a lot of work hauling all that heavy water with a lame knee. Do you always wash in cold water, does it remove your skid marks from your under clothes that you probably wear for a week. I smell bull! 50% off grid spank shed taking into account the bought propane. 100% on grid in chit chalet! Anything different show us the proof or its just a video made up of 100% bull.

In the Time it Troy to have his Fragile Wife haul the washer out to his only off grid power source, Carry the laundry out, water to wash rinse, and haul it all back. Troy could have made 5 times what he saved working a real job.

Always working harder and not smarter.

Well Making his Wife work harder. Proud of yourself as a Man Troy?


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Wow this ks looking very nice! But how much it is cost ? I mean the price of the machin
And do you think this is really good for use any days?

The machine is currently going to $94 on amazon here: http://amzn.to/2yHS1P6

I love it. RVers and campers love it.

Looks like it is long lasting and durable.

Looks like a great little machine that uses little power and does a great job.

Good video i would loce to get me one of those washing machines.

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36