WanderluststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #off-grid5 years ago

12698257_1063932916992055_5336122569683213510_o.jpg
So, following on my decision to embrace my situation rather than get depressed by it.

I grew up in a big city (Birmingham, UK) but, whenever I had the chance I always visited the countryside. There was something about it that I found magical.

Even though I enjoyed the convenience of society, being away from everything, and everyone, made things seem so 'right'.

I remember clearly thinking that should I ever find myself on the streets I would head to open countryside and live there. I saw plenty of opportunity to survive without having to rely on the generosity of strangers passing on the street.

Fast forward a few decades and I find myself living the way that I imagined.

Sure, there were a few false starts, countryside living on farms, where, in exchange for my providing security and general maintainance, I lived for free, raising my own livestock and growing my own vegetables.

But, they never lasted long, the most I managed was a year, it seems that the owners, once they saw the possibilities that were available, would decide that they wanted to make it their weekend home, or sell it.

In addition to that, despite the fact that I am comfortable in 'civilisation', I always felt uneasy whenever people turned up at my domicile. Mainly because no-one needed to visit, nor had anyone been invited.

Now, living in the woodland glade I have found perfect peace. The farmer that has let me stay, in return for the good deed that I performed a coupld of years ago, he has done the decent thing and leaves me to myself, sure, the odd tractor passes by now and then, and I am sure that in a few weeks there will be a flurry of activity around the woodland as the land is prepared and planted for this years crop.

But, I can handle that. I will be too busy getting myself ready for the next stage of my adventure and that will involve making the vardo ready to be on the road (which includes sourcing and training a suitable beast to pull it!)

So, I've found my place in life which allows me to live on my terms. I have no ties, other than to my animals (three dogs, four goats - soon to be more as the two does are pregnant and due to drop in March). I don't have a job, not in the way that most people do, but, I spend my hours making craft items from leather, antler and wood, I practice my card magic and I read tarot, all good for when I am travelling and people will drop by to see this crazy guy with his menagerie as it passes through their village/town.

I know, deep in my heart, that I will never return to the 'real world', I enjoy my place in nature, I have wanderlust, I need to vist places, meet new people, treasure new experiences. I hope that I die on the road.... but not for another three or four decades at least, and, in my sleep, with a smile on my face.

My off grid skills have dramatically increased over the years, in direct opposition to my reliance on the man-made things that you all treasure. (I'm still working on getting rid of things that I have, I need very little to survive.) I have also overcome the embarassment of taking advantage of things that are available (triple ply toilet paper at the local govt building where the library with free internet access is, for example!)

And, I no longer refuse offers of help or generosity from complete strangers.

My ethos when it comes to 'selling' my items is that you pay what you feel is the right price, or can afford to pay. So far I have never refused an offer, and, I am still to come across the person who wants to play clever and give next to nothing. (Which I will still accept!)

Payment can come in many ways, cash, barter, hospitality, I don't mind, if it helps me then I will accept it happily. Coffee is my main desire (I'm a registered caffeine addict LOL).

Once on the road I plan to visit as many tourist spots and festivals as possible, this will give me access to the largest number of people, and with numbers come potential customers. Can't blame me for wanting to make things easy for myself.

However, between these spots will be my quest for solitude, I am not looking to line my pockets with money, I need what I need to get by and that is it. At present, if I can earn $7 a day then the animals and myself can live well (struggling at less than $3 a day at present), once I have earned enough to cover the next stage of my journey then I can move on again, seeking the next episode in my lifetime adventure.

Am I poor? No, not at all, so long as I have what is needed to survive and be comfortable then I am as rich as I want. I have freedom to do as I please, when I please, I have little stress, other than when coffee levels are low, or the wind decides that it is going to try to blow out my last match as I light my campfire. I sleep when it's dark, I wake when I want (that's a lie, I wake when the dogs decide that it is time to get up!)

And the dogs... now there's another story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66