Increasing Battery Life On Linux With TLP

in #off-grid6 years ago (edited)

As I stated in my previous post I have been struggling a lot lately with producing enough electricity to do everything that I want to do online with my netbook. The netbook itself being my largest consumer of electricity (other than periodically needing to charge my cordless tool batteries) I decided to look into ways that I could optimize it's power consumption.

Being a Linux user definitely has it's advantages in this regard and being an avid user of Android's Extreme Power Saving Mode I got to thinking that assuredly something similar must exist for Linux itself. I found two options outside the normal array of things like dimming the screen, some BIOS power saving options and disabling all radio devices like bluetooth and WiFi. The first was a piece of software that is named Powertop but after installing and configuring it I did not see a marked increase in battery life which could admittedly just have been do to a poor configuration on my part. The other option that I found was a program call TLP and after a rather simple install and configuration I noticed a thirty to forty percent increase in 'battery life'.

If you are looking for a way to conserve power and optimize your laptop/netbook/desktop to conserve power I highly recommend trying TLP and viewing the results for yourself.

The article found at the following link gives a good description of what exactly TLP is and how to install and configure it on Ubuntu and Linux Mint systems: https://www.tecmint.com/tlp-increase-and-optimize-linux-battery-life/

The article found at the following link gives a good description of how to install TLP on various other Linux systems besides Ubuntu and Linux Mint: https://linoxide.com/linux-how-to/tlp-make-linux-laptop-battery-last-longer/

Thanks for reading and have a great day.

Sort:  

For windows I can recommend to got into the power-settings and change the Maximum % Value for the CPU from 100% to about 66%.
You won´t feel any disadvantages in normal surfing and working. But the CPU wont fire up to 100% for every click you do. It´s about miliseconds.

I used this for my Dell Notebook and got from about 5h to almost 8h while working.
Of course I played a bit around with the values. At about 40% I start to feel some lags. But while writing in Word or posting on Steemit it works great and saves a lot of power.

And with Windows-Key + X --> M you get directly to the Mobile-Center and you can adjust the powersetting with only two clicks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65673.10
ETH 2625.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66