Turn Your AC Lamp Into DC: Use Off The Grid, Or In RVsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #off-grid6 years ago (edited)

Convert.jpg

I have a vintage lamp base that I bought at a flea market. I thought I would convert it, as simply as possible to use in my (off the grid) cabin. What I like about this project is that we can use something old, with art deco style, and made with real stuff (metal). That is hard to find nowadays, especially with RV parts.

The lamp base had a regular AC cord with two prongs. I cut the plug off, leaving as much length as possible, just in case I need it later on.

IMG_3504 2.jpg

IMG_3505.jpg

I spliced an ABM connector on the lamp cord so it could plug, and unplug easily from my solar charged battery.
Cords.jpg

For an old school switch, I used a pull chain socket. I already had it, so I used it.
IMG_3509.jpg
(Pull chains remind me of my Grandma. I can see her now with an unfiltered Pall Mall cigarette dangling from her mouth, and a super long ash column hanging on the tip, defying gravity like a magician, pulling the chain.)

Then I added a beautiful, Edison styled (12v) Led bulb. The bulb is rated at 5 watts, and gives off a good amount of light.
IMG_3510.jpg

Dual Light.jpg

This is a good solution for off grid lighting, and we don't have to put up with that cheaply made, but expensive, junk that is for sale nowadays. The pull chain is great and easy to find in the dark. I find it quick and efficient, with less fumbling than looking for a wall switch. (The pull chain feels nostalgic.) And as a bonus, you don't have to run wiring to install a switch.

[Peace Dog]

82nd_Crest.jpgPremium Original (Badge).pngpall-mall-non-filter-soft-pack.png

Sort:  
Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Nice! We did this with our tiny house. The ceiling lights in the main living area we used standard fixtures and found 12V Edison style LED bulbs.

Thanks! I think it is pretty amazing that these LEDs work as well as they do. Who would know that they come with in a standard size... A very good discovery.

Crazy, I just bought a vintage factory lamp (with a beefy cage around it) at an antique fair today for the same project idea.

That's cool. I have a few more to use somewhere. One really cool one is an old Sunbeam sunlamp. It is very art deco, yet futuristic looking. Let me know how your project turns out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63696.24
ETH 2486.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69