Speech of the High One (Poetic Edda) - video

in #odinseye7 years ago

This is a reading from the Poetic Edda, c. 1200 AD called "The Speech of the High One". This is when Odin discovered the runes.

Discovery of the Runes

I hung from a windswept tree.
I hung there for nine days and nights,
Gashed with a spear,
An offering to Odin,
A sacrifice to myself,
Bonded to the tree which no man knows,
Or whither its roots may run.

No-one gave me bread,
Nor gave me drink.
I peered down into the dephs and
Snatched up the runes,
And with a fearful scream
Fell into a swoon.

After I began to thrive,
My wisdom thrived too,
I was joyful and I prospered,
One word led me to another,
One deed led me to another.

"The speech of the High One",
The Poetic Edda, c. 1200 AD


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84