A Viking Prayer - Animation and thoughts

in #odinseye7 years ago

Lo, There do I see my Father, and
Lo, there do I see my Mother, and
Lo, There do I see my Brothers and my Sisters and
Lo, There do I see my people back to the begining, and
Lo they do call to me, and
bid me take my place among them in the halls of Valhalla,
Where the brave will live forever.

Dated around 100 through 110 A.D.

Lo, There do I see my Father
Lo, There do I see my Mother and
My Brothers and my Sisters
Lo, There do I see the line of my people back to the begining
Lo, They do call to me
They bid me take my place among them in the halls of Valhalla
Where thine enemies have been vanquished
Where the brave shall live Forever
Nor shall we mourn but rejoice for those that have died the glorious death.

Dated between 4 B.C. and 3 A.D.

Animation Odin's Eye created originally posted here

The 13th warrior is where people may recognize this prayer...


Thoughts...


Since posting this short clip/animation piece people have asked if this is a real prayer. It's a question, because I'm not sure for certain.

But this got me to thinking... so what if it's real or not? What matters is if it helps you and if you get inspiration from it.

It comes from the tradition of story telling. The importance of this in folk.

There's nothing like sitting around a camp fire with your clan and telling stories... this would be a good prayer to say.



Sort:  

Excellent post! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Thank you for your comment. Skal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51