Ode Challenge 2 : The Standoff

in #odechallenge7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170719_130207.jpg

Benignly before us, the last tasty portion,
We all eye the prize, our thoughts a distortion.

Such value is seen in the last piece of pie,
The desire it glistens in each lusting eye.

Etiquette states we must all play the game,
Pretend that we don't in fact all wish to gain.

Social decorum has taught us to say,
"You have the last piece, I've had enough anyway."

Behind social graces, unspoken truth does remain,
The last piece of pie is the ultimate gain.

IMG_20170719_130018.jpg

The first bite of an apple they say is the best,
Regarding a pizza, in the last slice we invest.

Like Omaha eight I play with a bluff,
Pretending that I have now had enough.

Eight slices in place of the cards we proceed,
To balance decorum with our lust and our greed.

The technique I deploy is to offer but once,
Then second time round, an innocent pounce.

To hesitate at this point is a rookies mistake,
I've learnt from past plays it is my slice to take.

IMG_20170719_130053.jpg


This is my entry for the Ode Challenge .

🍕 🍕 🍕 🍕 🍕 🍕 🍕 🍕 🍕 🍕 🍕 🍕

Ode to the last slice of pizza.
Hosted by @japhofin8or

Images thanks to pixabay.

I try to use my own when I can. I've been a bit unwell and find limiting activity helps to manage.

Pixabay is a fabulous resource.

Free images that can often be used without attribution.
Although I always try to name my source if it isn't mine.


Like the badges below.

Created by the very talented @lauralemons

U5drm9pVJxTxCCNm11vQsy6LLKuz13K_1680x8400.png
U5drTkEvzCUBZmgLKXemM9ww4xSQAUu_1680x8400.png
U5drWuLhX5LuCeXMx1zkhAG61NPkdCv_1680x8400.png


IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

This is great!!! And funny!!

So is yours. I think the well chosen subject matter helps to not take it too seriously.
It's fun. I haven't managed much steemit or anything lately . This was an enjoyable exercise. 😊

Your work is amazing! Great write!

Great contest. I hope you keep it rolling. I am trying to wrap my head around the dice today, but today just isn't the day for it . Maybe tomorrow.

So articulated for a pizza poem :D !

It's an inspiring subject.

🎲Now I will face the dice. Always a brain strain. 😣

You can DO it!

Haha loved this! Also stopping by to wish you a good day :) Hope you are doing well. Lots of love and light your way!

Thank you. So much appreciated.

Lovely day to you 🌷

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50