Oculus Rift on LSDsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #oculus7 years ago

When browsing Reddit, I found this post by shoonx. I thought I would share, enjoy.

Let me say that this was probably one of the most profound experiences of my life. I'm dead serious. Piloting one the world's most powerful racing machines, real or not, has forever changed who I am.
Me and a buddy took 3 tabs each a couple of days ago. He has an Oculus Rift. I have been absolutely obsessed with motorsports since I was a child. My family has been around racing since the 1940's. I've become quite the Formula One fan. I play the games religiously. At least 2-3 hours a day, not even lying. I know each track like the back of my hand. I can tell you exactly when to brake, when you will likely have to pit, what setups to use, etc etc.
Well, my buddy surprised me by bringing his Oculus over to my apartment, so we could enjoy exploring virtual worlds during our trip. We started tripping about an hour after taking the tabs. I watched him play Skyrim for a bit. That was amazing on its own.
Next thing I knew, it was my turn. I instantly knew what I was going to choose. F1. I put on the headset and headphones, opened up Steam, and launched Formula One 2013. The menus alone were extremely trippy and crazy. The menu circles around an F1 car parked in a garage. I felt like I was literally in this garage, with this F1 car. Goosebumps all over, man.
I loaded up a practice session where it would be just me on the circuit. I loaded up my favorite circuit, Spa, and chose my favorite car of F1 history, a 2003 Ferrari. Next thing I knew, I was literally in the cockpit of a fucking Formula One car. Holy shit, I cannot even begin to explain the chills that went down my spine. The sounds and atmosphere of a race track felt 100% real. The mechanics were diligently tuning my car, the announcer was speaking jumbled words through the loud speaker, and the crowd was decently active. I picked my usual setup for the circuit, and hit "Go out to track". The mechanics put my tyres on, took the car off of the jacks, and the car fired up. The ear-piercing sound of a v10 F1 engine flooded my ears as the red horse came to life.
I exited my garage, and proceeded down pit lane. I reached the end of pit lane, turned off my pit limiter, and was greeted with a symphony of sensory overload. I had to stop the car and get myself together. I actually felt like I was in a real F1 car. Part of me was giddy beyond belief, and the other part of me feared for my life. I had to remind myself that it was only a simulation. I got my senses together, and got the car back to moving. Dear lord, the sound of the engine screaming at 19K RPM almost drove me to tears. You know how you contemplate literally everything around you when on LSD? Yea, that happened.
I thought about the billions of years of human evolution it took to produce such a ridiculously euphoric sound. This machine, built entirely for the thrill of racing other machines like it. It's an animal, in a way. I got in my zone after a few seconds of enjoying the orchestra that is an F1 engine. I wanted to see how fast I could go on LSD. Every single corner and every single straight came to me like childhood memories. The exact braking points, the amount of braking pressure to apply, when to turn, what angle to turn at, when to get back on the accelerator, when to shift, when to downshift, everything. It was like the F1 car was a part of me. When you are strapped into a race car, it is, in a way. The race car is the physical body, and you are the brain. A crazy thought, is it not?
After what seemed like infinity taking this pinnacle of racing technology in and out of corners, I stopped. I felt like my friend was getting bored. I paused, and saw that I only completed 6 laps, which takes around 9-11 minutes to complete.
I decided to turn off the game. I got my adrenaline rush. As much as I enjoyed the experience, I wanted to do other things during the height of the trip. I took off the goggles and headphones, and turned to my friend. "Why did you stop?" He asked. "That was insane."
We both shared some laughs and whatnot, and went on with our trip. I wound up beating my record time by .001 seconds. I am not making this up. I'm a little too lazy to upload the picture I took, but if anyone objects to the validity, I'll be happy to do so, however. To those who are probably wondering, yes, we went outside. God, nature was beautiful. That's for a different post though, eh? This one is dedicated to the F1 experience.

Pretty crazy and a good idea ;) lol might have to try it myself sometime.

Pokemon-Meme-Center4.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83