OCDB stats for buyers

in #ocdb6 years ago (edited)


Hey everyone!

There's been some questions lately regarding the profit margin for whitelisted authors that are purchasing votes from OCDB. In this post I want to explain how exactly it works and why our "bid bot" may be one of the best choices out there right now for you.

In short, we have added authors that we have curated with @ocd in the past to a whitelist and these authors have proven themselves to create quality content and usually have a hard time making any rewards on our platform. The authors can purchase votes that will return them a 150% vote for the amount they sent to the bot. The bot only votes once every time it reaches 100% which means we have a queue system. If the queue gets too long, we lower the max bid for authors and if the queue gets too short we raise it. An author can only buy votes for their account once every 24 hours.

So what this means is that after curation rewards the authors will get approximately 10% profit (it is a bit higher but let's go with 10 so its easier to do the math). I went ahead and made an excel sheet (although it has no functionalities cause I'm a noob) with some stats showing how much an account can profit over time with a starting balance in sbd (or steem). For simplicity we are going with 10% profit and regarding Steem as being $1.

On the very left a simple date system if the account were to start using the bid bot tomorrow and how many days its been in total since the account has been using the bid bot in total every day. I should've started with a higher initial balance but this should work too. This simulation is with a 10 sbd max bid in mind (currently ocdb allows for 12 sbd bids as we've received an astounding 800k sp delegation in a short time), then it shows your balance after you receive your first post rewards a week later, how much your return has been in sbd + steem power. Then we go to assume that you'd use your earned steem power to delegate to ocdb yourself. As you can see it takes a while until you reach the 0.001 threshold but I've tried this on my alt account @acidzapps and received approximately those returns with the 70 SP I have delegated to @ocdb. Bear in mind that this number compounds if you re-delegate daily and I couldn't bother going through the daily increases so I counted them with x7 or x14 as if you were not to update your delegation within a week or two. At the end it shows your balance starting from 500 sbd after the liquid post rewards and after the ocdb returns.

Now I am not a genius at math but I put a lot of time into this and had to go back and correct it which lead to most numbers being wrong more times than I'd like to admit, so if you do happen to find something wrong in there let me know and I hope it won't change the outcome too much.

What you can see through this simulation though is that someone starting with an investment of 910 sbd and being whitelisted to @ocdb and if Steem and SBD were to remain stable at $1 through 3 months, they would come out with $178,08 in profit after 91 days. That's from one post daily and of course your initial investment as well, although half would be invested in Steem Power. I made these many columns so that people who do not plan on delegating to @ocdb with their winnings can still count how much they would've profited just by posting once per day and using our bot.

Anyway, let me know what you think. I will soon be making another one for delegators as our bid bot is fully non-profit and offers a nice return to users delegating as well and the delegators know that the votes are going to deserving authors. :)

Thanks for reading! For more info on @ocdb visit this site where you can look through the whitelist, check the current queue and view the current delegators and the current rewards awaiting to be sent to them once every 24 hours.

https://thegoodwhales.io/


Sort:  

Thanks for doing all of this. I haven't really been using the bot much the last few months, but maybe it's worth going back to it. You know, I thought the max was still 2.5 SBD. When did it change and how did folks find out about the change?

Also, do you only take sbd and not steem?

We announce it on our discord but now also in the comment after you buy a vote. :)

Steem as well yeah, up to $12 in value same as SBD.

Does that mean that bidbots that claim a max profit of 10-15% are actually 150% votes about, if you bid at the right time?

I still think they're a bad choice because of who they profit and their lack of curation of any type to ensure that the posts aren't just utterly shit.

If all it takes to make the profit of a bidbot is to figure out a way to get the delegation and users...ehh... I think it should also take the hard work to ensure that you still maintain quality, so we aren't running Steem into the ground by going against the founding principals.

I've been testing them lately and yeah it does seem that you get ~10% profit after curation cut. Thing with them is that if someone else overbids in the same voting window as you your ROI can drop down all the way to -5 to -10%, some don't even have a lower limit.

But yeah... what you said stays true for them as well, that's why we decided to create something different and soon we will be experimenting with a different kind of bid bot as well with different rules but still non-profit and having the buyers best interest in mind.

Don’t you just love math? While I was reading this I could ‘hear’ your excitement in the process. Looks like you have a nice thing going here. I don’t have anything to delegate yet, but I’m working on it. I am bookmarking the web link for later on when I raise enough to help this good cause. :-)

Best wishes with your progress on this project.

I still haven't had time to convince myself to use bots yet, but love number crunching and will definitely trt and understand what's going on here.

Thanks for sharing this information sir @acidyo. I must try hard again to enter whitelisted author even my post (writing and photography) all original and not plagiarsm. God bless you.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a great concept for sure! While I rarely use bots, I think this is a great model to promote quality content while incentivizing the community behind the support as well! It is like a win/win!

Reading this be like:

lol yup, took me way too long to put it together xD

math, not even once.

First and foremost I need to say this: The image/logo rocks! Just checking the website for the first time and I was wondering what it takes to get an author whitelisted. Hats off to you for making a non-profit bot and putting effort into this in order to empower the community.

Thanks man, appreciate it!
If you've been curated by @ocd in the past and your post has been featured in the compilation posts you should already be in the whitelist. If not we will be doing whitelist recommendation posts more often so look out for those. :)

Thanks for the upvote and the response! I do check them out and even recommend people, however nobody ever thinks about returning the favour lol xD. Hoomans.. :P

Have a good day/night!

hi @acidyo, any alternative option to upvotes someone else quality post with ocdb even when they are not in the whitelist yet ?

how can I get whitelisted?

You gotta be curated by one of the @ocd members and featured in the compilation posts! If you write quality and original content then there might be a chance to be added soon when we open a new post of allowing users to recommend others! :)

I think I am but not sure...hopefully ;)
thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37