Family and fragility

in #ocd4 years ago

When I'm stressed I feel that drawing is the best thing that I can do in order to feel relaxed. Pointillism is a style that I'm particularly fond of. I can't precisely tell when I started to feel like doing a million dots for relaxation, but I guess it just happened ...

image.png

I remember when I first saw an isograph rotring pen. I was quite little and my uncle was a topographer . Unfortunately he died and soon after my mother brought home an isograph set which belonged to him. She knew I was into drawing and painting and she thought I might find them useful. I remember the pure excitement I have felt when I first laid my hands on it. There was some red ink remained and a couple of isographs. I remember drawing a female portrait and giving it as a gift to my best friend. It was then , I think, when I become fascinated by the power of detail in art.
When you look at a piece of art you always take a closer look. You get closer, you step back, you come closer a bit more , trying to grasp the artist's intentions behind the artwork. When people see a realistic drawing or painting they are in awe. They are surprised, amazed, puzzled, joyful, respectful. For this amazing reaction it's worth to spend 30+ hours and more on a piece of art. The way I feel after I'm done it's worth my while. They way people feel when they see my art....It's priceless.
When I started this drawing I was thinking about the concept of a family. What does it mean. How come most of us secretely crave to have such a thing, although we might not feel prepared, ready, qualified for it.

image.png

When I think of a family I think at new life. When two people meet and fall in love, starting a family is the next step for the majority of people. Such a decision changes priorities, shifts directions and transforms the relationship. The bond shared through having a baby I think it's quite special. And that's why I thought that the fragility of new life deserves my full attention if I was to draw it.

image.png

image.png

I gradually started to build the image dot by dot. When I begin stippling, my mind goes blank. My worries go away. I think of nothing than my art. It's amazing how relaxing it can be to submerge yourself completely in what you love doing and how that changes the perspective of your reality. While the fragility of new life is amazing, I think that the concept of family itself is fragile as well. Just like a baby, you have to constantly care for your family, to provide to them with the necessary emotional nutrients: love, respect, care, empathy, support, forgiveness,understanding, patience, stability, freedom etc . Providing financially is not enough if the emotional part is left behind.

Dot by dot my drawing started to take a shape. This one took me 30 hours in the making and I loved every minute of it.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

You can see a short video of the drawing on my Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/p/B9rsJmolRQ4/

Longer video during my drawing process on my Youtube channel

I have also posted step by step photos during my drawing process on my Patreon
https://www.patreon.com/posts/fragility-step-34854967

I also posted it on my Etsy shop in hopes I can promote my art and sell it, although emerging as a new artist is difficult and selling art is not easy, I think that it's important to always try and never give up
https://www.etsy.com/listing/786498519/original-stippling-art-baby-feet-drawing?ref=shop_home_active_1&frs=1

BONUS I HAVE PAINTED A NEW T-SHIRT WITH AN EAGLE DESIGN YOU CAN WATCH MY LIVE SESSION ON MY TWITCH CHANNEL

Have a lovely day and stay positive! Toodle loo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54