Life with OCD Part 1

in #ocd8 years ago (edited)

Life WIth OCD
By Bluestormz (aka Dan)

When people think of obsessive compulsive disorder, they often think of someone turning a light switch on and off. Or someone tracing back their previous steps, washing hands, and many other general OCD rituals.

OCD for those of you who might not be familiar with OCD, the term stands for Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.

It is basically a mental disorder which impacts the behavior of a person who cannot understand why they’re doing a silly looking ritual. The behavior is sparked by a fear or trigger which creates a loop in their mind.

A ritual creates a temporary relief and then allows the brain to continue on with normal behavior, for a certain period of time.

It is a completely random event, I myself have many triggers around me. You could say that my case borderlines on severe-disabling at times.

With these triggers, it causes a person to be in a different mental zone, time simply goes by and doesn’t really matter. All that matters is that the thought provoking fear has to go away NOW.

I first discovered that I had the disorder when I was 8 years old. I would see an image of a stop light in my mind, and when a disturbing thought would enter my mind, if a red light turned on, I was in trouble. I would start waiting for the thought to change to a more positive one and then it would turn green.

As time went on, the rituals adapted and became your classic OCD rituals. Some handwashing, light switches, and fear of germs were the norm now.

At one point I actually had it under control for a while, I was tricking my mind into thinking the complete opposite thought of something negative entering my mind.

Ex: Walking down a sidewalk and someone passing by, they’re going to stab you…you better run. I would think no that’s silly, they’re just walking to their destination as I am.

So in closing, this is only a feeler to see if people are interested in learning about my specific case, and I will share more (without giving my last name) about how the OCD has evolved and made my life a living hell. Medications have been tried. With a mental disorder, there’s no exact fix unfortunately.

I thank you all for your time!
-Dan

Sort:  

thanks for sharing this material, I like what you posted. Thank you so much

Thank you for your time!

OCD can simply be cured by a mental excercise in just one day. Your mind is tricking you in making you believe that something bad will happen to you if you don't do the OCD ritual. You need to start believing that something bad will happen if you do any ritual at all. It works and OCD will be cured forever, because now you have a new form of OCD, the one that don't allow you to do shitty things.

Thanks for your input, if it was that simple...it would work for millions of people who have the disorder, unfortunately for some people if they were to think that something bad will happen to them, then fear would overwhelm them and make the situation worse in some cases.

It's all in your head. Make yourself believe that the worst thing you can imagine will happen if you ever to do some OCD stuff again and it will go away by itself. You will instaure a new OCD in your mind, one that will help you.

Hello @bluestrmz....... thank you for sharing ...... I am interested in the life you've had with ocd....... Home to hear more!

Thank you, I will be writing more in the next few days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60855.77
ETH 2668.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47