Operation Curation Delegation is looking for 5 more english curators!

in #ocd7 years ago (edited)

OCD is back looking for some more active curators for english posts. We have recently had a few curators go inactive and there has been a huge demand to join OCD so we wanted to give more manual curators a chance to make their curations more powerful while at the same time helping out newcomers and the platform.

OCD is a curation project that strives for transparency and to support and reward authors that haven't received the attention they deserve. We have been running for over 3 months now and there are a total of 25 active curators in the team finding and curating posts of all kind, different languages and focusing on newcomers. We incentivize our curators through the daily compilation posts to do a good job but make sure to reward the original authors around twice as much.


What your daily activities are as a curator

  • You search for original content posts (no plagiarism) that are undervalued (under $10 rewards) and nominate them for curation on our discord channel.
  • You vote on other posts by the other curators in the team to choose which ones make the daily compilation post. (also on the discord channel)
  • You have the chance to author the compilation posts for a full week and receive added rewards for them.
As a curator you also receive 1000 SP delegation with which you only have to vote on your nomination and the daily compilation posts of OCD. Bear in mind though that abuse with this delegation will get you removed from the project.

Reward distribution

  • 25% of the daily SBD is divided among all active curators, 25% to the ones that get their nomination chosen for the compilation post.
  • 50% of the SBD goes to the curator authoring the compilation posts that week.
  • 50% of the SP remains with the account but you get a stake in it depending on your nominations and activity. When you decide to leave the project you will receive your share in Steem.

We are looking for 5 curators!

Use this post to write your application to become a curator in our team, feel free to include which specific genre's of posts you would like to focus on as a curator and why you are the right person for the project!

You have time until this post pays out to apply and we will announce our decision after that.

Thanks for reading and good luck!


Sort:  

TLDR - I spend hours looking all over steemit reading all sorts of random articles and looking for good people to follow. I spend most of my time in #teamaustralia, #thealliance, and #steemsilvergold, but am always looking for new tags with good content. I would use the SP to help struggling minnows I follow who consistently create odd, but great content and give back to the communities I'm in through increased upvotes and SP delegation. I'm not good at programming, writing, leading, drawing, or many other things that seem to be valued here on steemit, but I am great at encouraging others. This is what I'll continue to do whether or not I'm chosen.

Why I think I would make a great curator. I eat, live, and breathe curation. I have 3575 posts in the past 4 months or so on steemit and read a lot of articles a day. I would say 80 - 90% of my posts are from commenting on other peoples posts and of those 75% are on unique posts (not just commenting on the same post over and over again).

I am pretty active in #teamaustralia, #steemsilvergold, and #thealliance. I'm always looking for new tags to cruise around in with great content. I enjoy reading about gaming, sports, steemit, crypto, programming, conspiracy theories, beer reviews, blogs, collecting, history, reviews, inspiration posts, and people volunteering or helping others. I know it seems like a lot of randomness, but am confident you'd find all these topics in comments I've left over the past week or so.

I've also taken part in #steemwars and #motu here on steemit, but missed #steemlords due to getting married and family vacation. If I do get accepted to be a curator I'd use the increased income to first delegate some steempower to @mrsquiggle (the #teamaustralia bot) and then to @silvergoldbotty (for #steemsilvergold). I've already loaned some sbd to @bellyrubbank who is one of the bots for #thealliance.

I think @gniksivart would be a great curator I can't believe how active he is reading and commenting. I rarely find a post where he hasn't commented and had a meaningful interaction with the writer.

It's easy to come up with good comments when you're commenting on great content!

great application, you've summed up your steemit journey wonderfully... all the best!

Thanks so much. Fingers crossed!

You would be perfect in that role @gniksivart ! You are always commenting and work hard to make Steemit a better place. I hope you get it ;).

I think you would be absolutely perfect for one of these spots. I hope you get it. Fingers crossed for you.

Thanks for the support!

Why do I all of a sudden feel like I am in Star Wars?

You deserve a spot here

Greetings @acidyo Do you think Steemit has what it takes to be one of the top 10 global social media platforms?

We do! Are you willing to help us do what it takes to fix steemits vulernabilities so we can bring this platform to the mainstream?

I represent an media alliance with over 10 million followers. We see that steemit needs a few small, but very important changes to make it to the next level.

Please share your solutions with us! And help us attract the attention of steem developers. Share your wisdom and thoughts with us at
https://steemit.com/steem/@earthnation/solutions-to-bring-steemit-to-the-mainstream-discussion-thread-share-your-solutions-help-us-attract-steem-developers-attention

Together, we will bring steem to the Mainstream!

CommentWealth trolls for trolls and spams the spammers... please be aware @earthnation that consistent spam comments like yours might eventually result in flags, which hurt your reputation and earning potential. Linking to your own posts in another Steemian's comment thread is really bad form. Next time, try engaging with the author in a way that builds true community here on Steemit!

Flagging for spam and replying to top comment for attention combined with a comment self-vote.

I'd love to curate for @ocd! Posts that draw my attention tend to focus on economics, business, poetry, and fiction. Why these genres? I'm a moderator of the poetry workshop on The Writers' Block, am currently writing a novel, plus I write a lot of non-fiction regarding corporatism, lobbying, and Austrian economics. I'm also always on the lookout for writing that blends story-telling with economics - it does exist! And what better way to capitalize on the fact that I'm on Steemit and Discord literally all day every day than to put that time to even better use curating! Thanks for considering me.

@geke would make a great curator, she really is on Steemit/Discord all day. She also has a great eye for quality posts and actually spends time reading through others works!

thanks @mk40 😃

Its so good to hear of people who actually read ones articles. Hope you make one of the positions

You read, and you write, The writers and storytellers need more people to view their work especially the ones who have joined in the last couple of months. ex: @cizzo, @josephlwiess, and @aksounder, all of whom are fantastic writers/storytellers. If you are selected I hope you take a look at these 3.

I've met @cizzo and @aksounder already, through The Writers' Block, but haven't run across @josephlwiess - thanks for the heads up!

i knew you would be a good candidate, i have seen some of your remarks. @josephlwiess is currently writing/sharing an historical fantasy story. Castle, Knights, and magic. pretty good read so far.

I was looking at a tool I heard about to find mentions today and... Dang! Little did I know you're out there in the Steemit community talking me up! You are a Rockstar! Thanks buddy. Wish there was a better way to be aware of when someone mentions you out in the wide world of Steemit.
I also vote for @geke to be any kind of curator. She's pretty awesome and The Writer's Block is a great place.

I really enjoy reading the stories you and the other Authors/storytellers are putting out there, so when given the opportunity, I plug away for all of you, trying not to go too far overboard, so just a few at a time.

@geke has my full support for @ocd curatiton.
Smart, interested, engaged, knowledgable and likeable. 100% for geke!

I want to participate. I am interested to curate quality articles and value-added on readers' knowledge. I think these genres deserve additional curation: article, education, psychology, and philosophy. I see some good articles from new users but low rewards. I realize how hard it is to write an article. To avoid plagiarism, I will check back the articles to be curated.

Am I the right person in this project? I am currently focused in these fields. Thank you.

Good luck for you!

I support you become an English Curator of OCD. Good luck!

I support you become an English Curator of OCD. Good luck!

I am currently on the road, hitchhiking my way to Steemfest with @anomadsoul, who has also made me aware of this post. As I don't have my laptop with, I'm writing this comment from my phone (so I'll keep it concise).

When I started on Steemit, I remember reaching out to @acidyo on the Steemit.chat, I didn't know at the time directly contacting whales was "not done". But @acidyo was patient with me and nominated me for OCD, and it got the top nomination that day! For me this was the first time a post made over 1 SBD. With over 20 SBD, it made me feel my content was appreciated, and it made me work harder to keep improving my own content.

As the creator of Steemitworldmap and a vivid traveler, I am already working on a daily #traveldigest. This doesn't focus on minnows, but often times minnows are being featured as well.

On a daily basis I see a lot of incredible travel content, which I feel is one of the bigger subjects where the content is often undervalued (with the exception of a few known authors). As of such I would like to nominate my @steemitworldmap account to become a curator for OCD.

If you want to check posts selected by the Steemitworldmap team (which I am leading), I would again kindly ask you to check the #traveldigest post.

I personally see this as a win-win-win situation (three wins indeed): OCD gets amazing travel content from minnows, the minnows get more visibility and rewards than I can currently provide from the Steemitworldmap account and third the Steemit Worldmap would get more visibility, which hopefully in the long run brings more travelers to Steemit.

I vouch for Martibis, he is one of the most comitted people with helping out the community and his steemit world map idea is amazing. Hands down to this mate.

I love steemit world map! This is a great idea and Martibis picks out some great content in his travel digest.

Nice initiative SteemitWorldmap , Bravo!!

Hey, congratulations! You made the team. Please contact me under the same username either on steemit.chat or discord for an invite to our discord channel.

Hey @acidyo and OCD team,

If you are looking for an active steemian with deep ties in the community and a passion for building steem to its full potential... I might be the right guy for the job.

I joined Steemit on January 4, 2017. Since then, I have worked my way up from the bottom. I participated in 15+ weeks of the Open Mic contest. In the process, I received Curie votes early on, learning the power of curation to incentivize talented new users.

I believe that steem can (and should) become the backbone of the social web. We can work together to create a new paradigm of funding for creators and thinkers everywhere.

My focus will be on music, art, and philosophy posts. My personal curation style is to focus on enjoyable content - I'm looking for posts that could bring users to our site because they'll love the content. A few examples of established steemians that have great content right now in my eyes are @jaybird @dimitrij and @winstonalden - and there are many more besides.

I believe that my current status as a "full-time" steemian, spending 30-40+ hours per week here, makes me a great candidate to join the OCD ranks.

One other thing I want to mention: I am the #469th highest ranked Steemian by reputation. I think this is a sign of my dedication and deep connection to the steem community :-)

Best of luck in choosing your new curators, and THANK YOU for working so hard to contribute to the steem ecosystem. Cheers.

I had no idea you're participating, I'm glad you're doing so, I hope you get in ;)
"Full-time" steemian, I may steal that, I fall under the same category, lol :)))

Oooh! I've been waiting for this post! I would love to be an OCD curator, I really like the project and the people involved. I'm looking for ways to be more involved in steemit, and I know it's hard to get exposure. I'd love to help new users with quality content be more successful so they have the motivation to stay and make this platform better. I think funny/entertainment, yoga and history posts need more light and I would want to focus on that. Everybody needs a laugh!! ..and history, well and yoga of course!

Would love to see more yoga curation :) Great application, your choice of content is diverse. all the best!

Well I would also present myself as a curator because I see many good posts but I don't have much voting power to reward them.
I want to focus on just life. This is the field I like to read about the most and there a lil chance of plagiarism in it.

Hey, @ocd team! I would love to be considered as a curator, I have been on the platform for a little over five months now, and I think it is time to give back as the community has given so much to me and it could be my way of thanking and encouraging talent. I do mostly fiction myself, but I also love photography and people writing genuine posts about their thoughts and experiences. I have seen so many great writers go unnoticed.
I am also a part of Minnow Accelerator Project(MAP) group where we try to help new authors and organize a friendly competition between fresh talent, to bring more people together and award for originality as it is so easy to get discouraged when you do not get noticed.

I have seen some of the comments on the Authors/Storytellers pages, you would be excellent choice to bring attention to some of the newer Authors/Storytellers on steemit such as: @cizzo, @josephlwiess, and @aksounder, they are all new to steemit in the last two months.

Thank you for bringing me new options to check out!
It is very sweet that you are trying to bring other creators exposure :)

Good to see you applying! All the best :)

Thank you! I think it is time I did more! :)

Good luck lindahas. I trust you will do it with perfection.

Thank you, I hope so! :)

I vouch for Linda, i trust her criteria and comittment to the plattform.

Hi! I'm very interested in the job! I already browse Steemit daily looking for new opensource projects (on Utopian), and travel and tech related topics.
I'm also a dev and could come up with some tools to make curation easier if needed.

I would like to be a part of the team to support the photography community here!! I have been running my #portraitcontest for 19 weeks now and have seen SOOO many fantastic photographers here get only a few cents on some amazing art!!! I would like to support the #photography community and I think I would add a different perspective to the OCD Team!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65