Help Doesn't Really Help

in #ocd-resteem7 years ago

moshed_2017-10-10_10.13.30.jpg

I have rejected a lot of offers of help in group works in school. This has always been a good thing for those people though, for they are left to do nothing while I do everything happily. I don't mind carrying the weight of the group as long as I enjoy the task handed to us. They could suck on the high grades I always target that should actually be just mine, I don't care, I mean I wanted to do it all anyway and it's never their fault. In short, I've never needed help and I've always succeeded in my goals despite that.

People could never ever tell me that it's selfish because I take everything. It's the task I hoard all for myself not the rewards. They still think it's rude and arrogant, but I have never really thought of it that way, so I am never affected when they describe or my choices as such. They should be thankful there are people willing to take all the tasks and accomplish it all by herself for all of them without them moving a finger. Now, what's the point of me telling you all this?

Well, yesterday, someone claimed I need help to "fix" myself as if I were a broken vase, and I am obviously not. Maybe it was my mistake to talk to her about myself, because it gave her a sense of entitlement to decide what I needed, but all I needed was someone to talk to, because I'm that person who has so much to say yet no one to really talk to not someone to give me an advice. I know what to do with my life, and so does everyone else. It's just that there are many people implying otherwise, and it's never good.

People just want to tell someone how their day was but it does not necessarily mean they are looking for answers to their problems, because they already know and they may just refuse to or there is just nothing they could do to fix it (mostly financial, so DUH). We should all be mindful of our power as individuals who create our own paths and not settle for feeling a certain negative way because people think or say you need help all the time. Embracing your individuality shapes a certain strength inside you that is all you need to keep on moving.

giphy.gif

Sort:  
Loading...

Well said, be yourself.

You write in the first person but who is the character?

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52