The best gift for a child is a book

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_15337590412385308.jpg
Gradient-sprinkle-separator.png

A couple of weeks ago in Librerías del Sur, in the city of San Juan de los Morros, I noticed the presence of the child in the photograph outside the premises.

He was looking at one of the books. I invited him to come in but he, shy as all the children, especially as those who surely have not entered an area full of books and unknown adults, refused. But then it reappeared. I left the premises again. I went back to the initial invitation, but only told me that he wanted the book he was looking at, the title was "Simple Machines" - which was not a science book but a collection of poems. I grabbed the book from behind the counter. I looked at the price. Just a few bolivars that are worthless. I decided to buy it but he had to promise to read it.

Gradient-sprinkle-separator.png

Then I accompanied him to the outside of the bookstore where his mother was waiting for him. She was kinda mad with her son because of his behavior and for the gift I gave him. But I told her not to worry, that the important thing was for the boy to get into the world of reading. His smiling mother then asked me to sign the book of poems.

And I did that.

To the days, a friend send me via Facebook the photograph to me that you are watching here. It was a surprise for me, because my friend had managed to keep the moment without my knowing it.

Now, I think that the best gift we can give to a shy and introverted child is this: give them a book.

When we give a book to a child like that, we are giving him the keys to the universe. Eternally thank this gesture, so the memory of whoever has put it in hand is too far to remember it accurately.

I remember that when I was a child, one day in my school for some reason that I can not pinpoint, they gave us a storybook of Grim brothers to each child.

I had not read any books before that. But since then, the Grim brothers fitted me up as Jules Verne and many others would do later on.

I trust Martin's word. Maybe he is a boy like me.

I am still reading many books. And I have also written my own books, of which, some pieces I have been able to share with you here at Steemit. Maybe Martin in the future write his own. People's lives can change for the better with acts as small as this.

If some day you know a shy and introverted child like Martín, or as I was, or maybe you were, if possible, put a good book in his hands.


 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://seifiro.timeets.xyz/2018/08/08/el-mejor-regalo-para-un-nino-es-un-libro/

Sort:  

You touched on one of the subjects important to me, so I have resteemed.

I am glad you introduced yourself to me; you are a nice person.

Thank you for all of that.

I use to talk with high school students about books and films un that bookstore. I do it forma free. I enjoy that.

Beautiful story. And a nice reminder that a simple act of kindness and the right words can make a tremendous difference in a child’s life.

Yes that's correct. A book can make you need many others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49