My entry to What's in your library challenge ❓ by WizarDave

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago

Is this considered a library? :D

IMG_0966.JPG

This is a spare room cum storage room. We just pile everything here. I have no organizational skill obviously.

However, here is a pic of a bookshelf in our living room.

IMG_1008.JPG

Better?

There are at least a dozen of different versions of Bibles, at least 4-5 dictionaries, 2 thesaurus, a dozen of song books and hymnals, etc. There are history books, self-help books, guide books.

These are books that most of them are my age and some maybe older. Some have been read and some are still in their plastic covers never opened.

Untitled design.jpg

I love to flipping over and over the pages of these books when I was a kid. Childcraft is like a children's encyclopedia and World Book Encyclopedia is the sophisticated version. These are the first sets of books I remember that we have in our shelf.

bible stories and devotionals.jpg

Free Spirit.jpg

A coffee plant can live up to 200 years..jpg

Most of these books have not been put to use and they are just there for decoration. Some were handed down to us and some were gifts from other people.

I remember my mom having recipe notebook and despite having all these cook books, if she wants to cook something, it's the ever trusted recipe notebook she has that she opens. In this worn out notebook she has, you can find recipe clippings from flour boxes and milk covers. In this notebook of hers you can find perfected recipes over the years. There are corrections and notations to every recipe that she has catered to make it her own.

live naturally.jpg

We can find remedies for some ailments and diseases that here in these books. If you have plants and herbs in your yard if you have access to them, then these books are for you. You can start planting and learn of the medicinal benefits of these plants. Believe in the power of nature. Stay healthy and live naturally.

My mom is a big influence in my interest of books. She had been working and still works as a colporteur peddling books and carrying these heavy books to sell around and find customers who are interested. She had been doing these for years that it has taken a toll of her back and hips. She suffers pain. She had a misalignment of her spine and her joints have lost their synovial fluid. She has pinched nerves which gives her additional pain. She resorted to natural remedies and declined having surgery because of the risks involved and they outweigh the benefits.

IMG_0994.JPG

Aside from textbooks, there are also books in our own languages but mostly religious books. Most of these books are outdated, though. Every after school year, textbooks are stored in boxes and given away. However, these books in our shelves remained throughout the years.

IMG_1010.JPG

It was in high school that I started reading novels like Agatha Christie and Hardy Boys and SVH. I have accumulated since then boxes and boxes of paperback novels that I bought in thrift shops. If I don't find a particular book in these second-hand bookstores, I buy new ones in the mall or National Bookstore. When I go to a different place, sometimes I buy books there as well.

IMG_1012.JPG

IMG_1034.JPG

The most books I have of a single author is John Grisham. I could say that he is one of my favorite. Sometimes I have only one book from a particular author or maybe two if I get to like what I read. It's like love at first sight when you read a book. The first book you read is the convincing drive that will make you want to read other books from that author.

What books are in your library? What books do you read?

All photos are made and edited using Canva.

Sort:  

I used to love reading. Anymore it seems like I don't have the time. but your library looks very nice to me. You have things that matter. Such as books to help if you're sick, books to help with inspiration. You also have books to help with learning and studying. I would say it's a good collection. Thank you so much for sharing. until we meet again and send you all my love my friend.

Most of these are outdated but still a good read. I have literature books that my mom used when she was in school lol!

I only have one 3 books with me. (Bible, Angels, Therapy Book)

Wow nagadu :D

We also had lots of books those weren't even used too! Bible books for children, dictionaries and encyclopedias. I didn't have a book collection for myself since I'm not that into reading of novels or any book genre to be honest.

Start reading those books or better yet sell them :D

Mukang wala nang bibili. We’re planning to donate it na lang but we can’t find one here within our area na nagaaccept ng mga book eh. Maybe try ulit namin pag di busy.

Good luck in both contests @leeart 😊 will wait untill later on when i have more voting power to upvote your post 😊

Just upvoted and resteemed too @leeart wishing big smiles your way 😊

Thanks @happysmileyman! That made me smile :D

You've got many books. I envy you. I wish we have a little library at home too.

I don't really like library
I don't have any

I prefer pdf or ebooks

Nice library though

I do have some ebooks. However, the glare of the screen is harmful to the eyes too.

Good job in organizing my friend. The girl with the dragon tatoo watched the movie but could not compare as I have not read the book. Pahiram lol.

Mas marami ganap sa book siyempre hehe

I'm interested in the perfected recipes! haha! actually we used to have that before, but my Papa threw it all away while he's cleaning because he thought we memorize all those recipes already. hahaha! 😑

Oh, no. I hope there were at least some recipes memorized though.

I also have a shelf of cookbooks that I rarely touch, I cook from my head or reference my little notebook. They are mostly for occasional inspiration.

I relate to the stack-them-on-a-table style of organization. :)

It's more reliable what we know and sometimes starting a new one can be time consuming. At least with something we are familiar with it would be easier.

This post was upvoted by the Steemit Book Project! The project exists to help make books more available to the world and to promote book-related content on Steemit.

You can read more about the project here. If you write book related posts, head over to our Discord server (https://discord.gg/h93nHMu) and pop your book post links in the #curation-requests channel.

Hope you have a wonderful and bookfull day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62946.22
ETH 3453.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50