Recitation of poem "The Cremation of Sam McGee" - Robert W. Service | Songs for Canada | Kay Clarity

in #ocd-resteem4 years ago

This is a favourite poem of mine by Robert W. Service - "The Cremation of Sam McGee."

There are strange things done in the midnight sun
By the men who moil for gold;
The Arctic trails have their secret tales
That would make your blood run cold;
The Northern Lights have seen queer sights,
But the queerest they ever did see
Was that night on the marge of Lake Lebarge
I cremated Sam McGee...

I love it because it truly captures something of the Canadian spirit - our toughness, our sometimes dark and always quirky sense of humour, the reality of how the cold informs our whole experience of existence and makes us who we are.

I loved doing this recitation as part of my "Songs for Canada" theme (which you can listen through here: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLzxLmV5BSt5M2xRDBJCr8os_eHbpHemO7).

Canadian poetry fits the theme well, and I hope this read audio version is a welcome one for you.


This is part of an ongoing "song theme" series I'll be doing throughout 2020 with regular YouTube commentary on various topics. I'll be sharing the gamut from politics, culture, and art, to love, injustice, and true humanity. I am a Catholic, a conservative patriot, and millennial singer-songwriter, poet, and artist, and speak in that voice, but without ideology. I care about the truth and about sharing authentic songs, stories, and thoughts.

Subscribe to follow along on my hike through these chaotic times. Civilization is still worth fighting for.

My regular professional work is currently performing at select private events in Canada and the US. To contact my business partner and me with a request, please e-mail [email protected]. Signed, limited editions of my most recent album can only currently be obtained by direct request at this email.

Subscribe, like, and comment here, and find me on:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kayclarity/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kayclaritymusic
or simply type Kay Clarity in most social media options.

To make a one-time donation: paypal.me/kayclarity
Monthly membership options coming soon. Announcements soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80