"Eliot" - Kay Clarity | new original song in conversations with TS Eliot about a burning world

in #ocd-resteem4 years ago

There is so much going on right now in current events, so much beyond what most people feel they can even respond to.

Using the last lines of T.S. Eliot's poem "The Hollow Men" as a take off point ("This is the way the world end/not with a bang, but a whimper"), I wrote this song in conversation with him about the world burning--metaphorically and literally.

I also had in mind, in the backdrop, "The Wasteland" when I wrote it. Both works are highly worth reading.

Here is the essay I wrote in The Imaginative Conservative today to accompany it:

https://theimaginativeconservative.org/2020/05/power-poet-conversation-ts-eliot-burning-world-kay-clarity.html

“Eliot”

Is this the way the world ends:
With a whimper, not a bang?
Mediocre villains;
Nonchalant decay?
Is this the generation
That mocks at Noah’s ark?
Dancing while it’s raining,
Then drowning in the dark?

It’s funny how it feels like
The world is turning fine;
Balanced on its axis,
Keeping perfect time.
Is this the generation
Where the cosmos start to shift?
And all we do is shrug and sigh
While falling off that cliff?

Eliot, how’d you know then
That we’d end up just like this?
Laughing while the world burns,
Betraying those we kiss?
Is this the generation
Where we see just what we are?
In a faithless, fallen world
Will we fight or join the ranks of fallen stars?


Throughout 2020, I will be doing regular with regular song themes with YouTube commentary and analysis on various topics. I share the gamut from politics, culture, and art, to love, injustice, and true humanity. I am a Catholic, a conservative patriot, and millennial singer-songwriter and speak in that voice, but without ideology. I care about the truth and about sharing authentic songs, stories, and thoughts. You're welcome here wherever you're coming from.

Subscribe to follow along on my hike through these chaotic times. Civilization is still worth fighting for.

My regular professional work is currently performing at select private events in Canada and the US. To contact my business partner and me with a request, please e-mail [email protected]. Signed, limited editions of my most recent album can only currently be obtained by direct request at this email.

Subscribe, like, and comment here, and find me on:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kayclarity/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kayclaritymusic
or simply type Kay Clarity in most social media options.

To make a one-time donation: paypal.me/kayclarity
Monthly membership options coming soon.

Copyright 2020, Kay Clarity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83