Snail Mail and the Letters I Hoard!

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago

Desclaimer: Photos overload!

If there's one thing I could be grateful for being born in the 1980s is that I was able to have pen pals!
329375_gallery_56b1694f1b9b3_jpg.jpg

Here's a creatively made letter with all the glitters!

329375_gallery_56b16955ae897_jpg.jpg

Notice the date that this letter was written. That's 1999!

Majority of the teenagers these days might think what's a pen pal?

A pen pal is actually the expression referring to those people who regularly write to each other. It came from the two words pen and pal. A pen is basically the material used in writing and pal means friends! So that made it into pen pal!

329375_gallery_56b1695f2b675_jpg.jpg

Four pages of hand written letter from Jesell.

Since the inception of the digital and web age, pen pals had transitioned and eventually switched over to the digital realm. But because I treasure all of those letters I had exchanged with friends, I kept all of them with me, stored in a box and stashed in my room in Bohol.

329375_gallery_56b1695d92c2f_jpg.jpg

Pikachu on a paper!

Today, let me share with you those letters I have saved for decades and I am thankful I did. I believe they'll stay with me for the rest of my life because they are fun to read and it brings a lot of memories back. I would even giggle when I start reading one of them.

It was in grade school when I first started having pen pals. It was Jeselle whom I consider as my first ever pen pal.

329375_gallery_56b16950036b8_jpg.jpg

Jeselle usually draws on the letters she sends me.

329375_gallery_56b169635f559_jpg.jpg

These papers are really a hit before. Most of them are scented!

We met during a Youth Camp in Ubay, Bohol. Although she lives two towns away, we would still send our letters at the post office. It normally takes around a week before we receive the letters.

What I love about it was the fact that we address cute and colorful letters. Handwritten letters were made with effort and most of them were personalized especially when there were celebrated occasions such as birthdays.

329375_gallery_56b1695970679_jpg.jpg

Sometimes she uses a typewriter too! Very vintage indeed!

Jeselle even sent me friendship rings included in the letter. She was really an artistic person as she mostly paints and designs the letters she sends me.

We normally talked about our daily life especially school and our crushes. She oftentimes advises me with scripture citing and proverbs of which I greatly appreciate.

329375_gallery_56b16955e5e08_jpg.jpg

All of these are precious to me!

329375_gallery_56b16958ca3e5_jpg.jpg

Drawings in my letters were really something that Jeselle won't miss.

329375_gallery_56b169526ad47_jpg.jpg

Even the envelopes have those desgns.

I couldn't add all of her letters in here so I'll proceed with the other. But overall, she was the person whom I sent letters most of the time, she was also very diligent in responding to each of my letters.

I also had other pen pals from other towns but still within Bohol. I had friends from other schools too and we often send letters through hand mailing.

329375_gallery_56b16b839144c_png.jpg

329375_gallery_56b1694aeaaa8_jpg.jpg

What I meant with that is someone's tasked to lend the letter to me or to the other person. In such way, we won't be shelling out any amount for the postal fees, I totally believe that was the best way since I don't have much cash get before. I would even ask my parents to fund my postal mail fees.

329375_gallery_56b1694c3b053_jpg.jpg

I even kept some of the negatives from highschool!

329375_gallery_56b1694c698c6_jpg.jpg

This letter is really amazing, once I pull the lower part, it reveals the entire letter body.

329375_gallery_56b1695f6e47a_jpg.jpg

One of my pen pals love to hand letter, here's one.

329375_gallery_56b169461b84b_jpg.jpg

I usually receive cards too, personalized just like this one.

329375_gallery_56b169524c940_jpg.jpg

And who won't forget to write "Smile before you Open?"


"SMILE BEFORE YOU OPEN"


Aside from having pen pals here in the province, I also had two foreign pen pals.

Back in the days, some specific Samaritan Purse organization came to our place and gave Shoe boxes full of stuff. Lots of us were able to have school supplies coming from those shoe boxes. There were also toys, kits, and even food! Oh, I recall some even had dollars!

But what's extra special about my box was the fact that it has a letter in it.

That letter was written by the kid who prepared and sent that box and all that was in there.

Of course, her address was also stated. And because I love sending letters, I wrote her a thank you letter. It took over a month after my father sent the letter to the post office before I received a letter back from her. Alyssa was her name.

329375_gallery_56b1695289a01_jpg.jpg

Since receiving the letters take more than a month, she greeted me Merry Christmas and also happy birthday for January.

She loves my letters because according to her, She feels like I had exerted a lot of effort in writing it. Also waiting for one letter reply gives us excitement and a sense of having something to look forward to.

We have been pen pals for more than two years. I remember her sending me a box of goodies from the US! I still have the coins she sent me as those were her collections she shared with me. She even sent me photos of her family and her cat. It was nice recalling those.

329375_gallery_56b1695e5956e_jpg.jpg

That's my entire snail mail collection!


Patience is a virtue


Perhaps the best lesson I could earn from having pen pals is having great patience. In the digital age, everything comes in instantly, which perhaps explains why most kids nowadays want things instantly without having the courage to patiently wait.

329375_gallery_56b1695eb8909_jpg.jpg

How'd you like to receive a letter in a soda?



Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:

https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/

https://twitter.com/teardropstokens

image

Sort:  

Woooow it's amazing how you've been keeping these treasures for almost 2 decades already! So that explains why you're into calligraphy and hand-written quotes ate :D Great treasures :D

Great treasures jud cla dai. Thanks for dropping by

Waaahhh! You were able to keep it all these years!! I'm so glad na naabutan ko yung time wherein uso yung mga ganitong letters. I would usually buy stationary papers as a collection and then use some during special occasions. Hindi ko lang naexpi na magsend talaga ng letters through post office kasi mga classmates, friends and parents ko lang ang bnbgyan ko nito hahaha. natawa ako dun sa Smile before you open sobrang gamit na gamit to sakin dati hahaha 😂 brings back good old memories! I still have these letters and stationaries with me too. ❤❤

Dba sis... super nostalgic...yay share mo na yang mga stationary mo sis

Haha, k2 dili p uso ang phone. Effort kaayo mo send message bah. Samot n love letter. Murag same person ang g-send nimo letters ai ke hilig cya yellow.

ahaha karon pa ko kabantay jumong yellow ang usual color d ay sa mga letters noh? hehe thanks for noticing...

Pikachu stationery! <3 <3 <3

Cute ng mga stationeries sis

Thanks for the words of wisdom.

your welcome fretz..thanks as well for dropping by!

I am lazy doing those things.

I am same with u, I also doing like sticky note.

nice to know sis!!! i miss sending letters over post office

I was also born in the 80s. And like you i also had pen pals before. It was fun and as you said it takes patience to wait for the replies. I remember, every time the postman would pass by our house,I would really ask if I have mail. 😊😊

haha i can totally relate sis!!! oh those days!!

WOW. Those are so cool. Lucky you, you have kept them for years!!!

treasures of childhood sis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60277.41
ETH 3351.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42