the jokes on US todAy

in #ocd-resteem7 years ago

Its officially veteran’s day and I can’t help but wonder what purpose does this day play? Those that have lost someone in a war already celebrates their lives. Those of us that returned from a conflict celebrate life every chance we get. It doesn’t seem as though the government really cares about the regular people that signed up voluntarily to provide this service… so…

You can call me a bitter betty if you like, but I don’t get it. Yes I was discharged from the military, and I know plenty of guys who also were discharged but does that negate the services rendered? As awkward as it is to hear” thank you for your service” , I have never heard anyone say “ where you discharged” before they thank you for your service. Individuals in our governing body definitely differentiates between the two, but the citizens don’t…. ironic right?

I am still hung up on the notion that a brown man can join the armed forces to defend the country, but must tip toe in a conversation with a police officer if they want to avoid becoming an inmate or bullet free. Not to mention the shaky job market for veterans. So you can join the service do over a year of service and come home to find out that your time would have been better spent working up the ranks at your local piggly wiggly. I mean sure that’s like an American tradition,” the list of meaningless holidays”. I just thought this one should have meant more, promised more, insured more after all it is a day to celebrate the guys guarding our rights, moral values and overall belief system. I digress as I could go on for days about just this pparagraph...Its truly a testament, Drew can get a job as a Police Officer with no experience because of their cousin. However Sgt Grover has to wait till next spring for a training class which he has to pay for himself to be considered for the same position… what a joke.

All the things, people, and places that should be priorities take a back seat to the class clowns…

What’s your freedoms worth?

Really… prove it..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35