The 50 Year Old Two Million Rand Car is..

in #ocd-resteem5 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, a fifty year old Mercedes Pagoda, this was first built in 1965 and came in a left and and right hand drive. Left hand drive for the American and Right Hand Drive for UK, South Africa etc. We are currently South African based and my landlord purchased this 30 years ago for a mere R47 000.It is now worth over 2 Million Rand. Not a bad investment eh? Not quiet as good as Bitcoin though :)

20190317_132649.jpg

I have seen this many times in the garage naturally as I live here and the landlord drives it once a month odd, this time around I went with for the drive and it drives like a beauty albeit 50 years old!

20190317_132716.jpg

20190317_132711.jpg

I must be honest rather comfortable given that it is 50 years old and the ride is smooth. The drawbacks is a 50 year old 2.8 litre straight 6 is a Petrol Guzzler of note given that it has fuel injection and was way beyond it's years for the era.

I didn't enjoy the permanent smell of petrol in the air. This is a problem for this model as the petrol vent is in the boot, what a bad idea that was? Worse on hotter days like today, I am told!

20190317_132703.jpg

20190317_132657.jpg

20190317_121210.jpg

20190317_132720.jpg

So after all said done for a cool R2000 000.00 or an estimated $150 000 I would rather have a Lambo!

20190317_122944.jpg

This was a fun experience and nice ride down memory lane, excuse the ambiguity.

Trust you have an amazing Sunday further!

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Wow cool car. That's crazy how it has a vent in the trunk. What were they thinking.
So how is the South African Rand doing? Is it a good currency?

The South Africa Rand is dogsh!t brother I hold about 95 % crypto, we going the way of Venezuela fast thanks to criminal anc government! Corruption runs rampant mirrored to Venezuela Zimbabwe etc but thanks to Crypto's the future looks bright! Cheer$;)

Cool old car! Rand means Krugerrand, right? Is SA still on the gold standard?

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol Gold Standard? Whats that brother, this Countries 'leaders' are the biggest crooks/thieves/corrupt fools to ever live, I am sure we rank top 5 on highest rate of crime/corruption etc. So no we are certainly not gold standard related. Crypto's are going to give this pathetic government a white wash in 5 years or less mark my words, but world governments will begin to fail horribly as they lose power and the future looks bright, thanks to Crypto. Cheer$l;)

The smell reminds me of my buddy had a VW bug with the heater kit... Doesn't have a radiator... So it burned gas for heat lol and smelled!

Hhaha Ya I remember two mates of mine had those one exploded and the other he threw away, German Rollers my Dad called them in the rally days.. haha .. Cheer$;)

I had a Mercedes when I lived in Europe and it was sweet!!! Even if it was old, it drove wonderful!


source


I think it was my favorite car - EVER!

!tip

Hehe thats a sexy one. Why did you leave Europe?? Thanks a ton for the tip and love my friend much love and so nice to see you again x

It was, even if it was older, I still loved it and it drove like a dream. I left Europe to come back home to the United States. My dad had a heart attack when he was young and it scared me to be so far and have something like that happen.

But, I am ready to travel about again. ;)

Hhaha I am about ready to Travel again myself out of South Africa for good... Sigh, this place is mad at the moment!

You don't want to live there anymore? Nooo!!! Your sister is having a baby! Hell-o?

I know you aren't serious, right?

I think I may be my friend, serious, this place is rough, power outs for 9 hours a day and more and getting worse. Sadly I live in the North of the Country and She lives in the South 1000km's apart so never see her among other family so the way I see it if I am here or Australia NZ for example it will be the same just with first world amenities that work and not that work maybe depending on the mood of this corrupt criminal government. But time shall tell if crypto's just pay off now we can all get off grid, get a decent solar system installed and all shall be well. I started a nice vegetable garden so my goal is to get 100% off grid in a year or less but that all takes cash, we shall get there, thanks for the concern. x

The Recreational Vehicle (from my #MarketFriday post last week) is exactly that. I am keeping my house here but the vehicle will be able to survive off grid. It doesn't get any better than that. Solar Everything. So if our grid should ever go down, I can survive. :)

I totally get that. I have gone to the classes for growing food and will go to another MotherEarthNewFair in May (or June) Can't remember!

It will happen. I'm not quitting my day job waiting for steem!

Lol you and me bother my friend. I started trading crypto on binance am up about $200 first months so holding thumbs and hoping. Solar is the only way. Generators are dirty and non sustainable. Have a lovely day x x

🎁 Hi @craigcryptoking! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Oh! To Be Irish And Dream! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi @craigcryptoking!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.920 which ranks you at #4188 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 4189).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 211 contributions, your post is ranked at #89.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23