You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardships of being vegan in Russia

in #ocd-resteem7 years ago (edited)

@steemitbaby , I can imagine this must be difficult, perhaps one way if making sure you always have fresh herbs is to freeze them. Chop them very small, place them in ice cube trays, fill the tray with olive oil or any other oil that you like and then put it in the freezer. When you need herbs for cooking or a salad you take out a cube. When things are tricky we have to get creative on how to preserve some things we would always like to have . Best of luck and many blessings.

Sort:  

yes, I already use ice cubes for a lot of things, for example for freezing coconut milk which is expensive and I don't use everyday, or for soya yoghurt, which is again expensive and I use for some recipes))

Freezing herbs in oil for salad - that's something new! But I don't eat salads much in winter (i don't have vegetables for that). And a bigger problem with greens is that I lack dark leafy greens which are not found here, and that are rich sources of calcium and iron :(

Iron I think I get enough, as my hemoglobin blood test during pregnancy were perfect!) but for calcium I'm still a bit worried

an excellent calcium supplement is "cell salts"or sometimes called "tissue salts". it is a mineral, non addictive and easily absorbed by the body. Its also natural. have a look on the internet where you can read up about them, they are amazing!

wow, I've never heard of it, I'll look it up, thanks! it's cool that it's natural and well absorbed)
but it would be really great to find some 'food' source of calcium, you know, so that it doesn't appear that we need to supplemetn a lot for veganism, how it looks to others, you know what I mean :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58690.10
ETH 2310.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49