You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Has The Greek Magical Papyri In Translation Changed My Life?

in #occult7 years ago

Poetry is the highest form of human verbal expression, so it is magical. On the other hand, the highest form of poetry is the hymn (to the gods). It's not a coincidence that Aleister Crowley, for example, was basically poetic. Have you tried to write your own hymn that you can use to invoke the gods or some particular deity?

Sort:  

I believe words are words, that poetry is only one form of literature. Thus it is not the highest because words are packed in many styles in many ways through literature. As an example, Of Mice and Men has the most profound impact on me by the very concept the the era it was referencing. I have written my own rites, poetry, prayers, spells and hymns. I am saving all that material for my ceremonial rites book.

I agree that poetry is just one form of literary creation, but it is so in modern times. In the ancient past, poetry was the original form of oral creation. Poets played a very important role in traditional societies. All traditions are preserved in poetic form, before other literary forms are developed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33