'Tis The Season To Be Voting

in #oc5 years ago (edited)

I recently wrote about my experience in New York the last time I was there. The article was picked up by @travelfeed, for which I'm very grateful. Feel free to check it out if you haven't seen it. It may give some context to this piece.

Every time I return to New York, It's less and less different to me, coming from London. The reason I think is that London is becoming more like New York as time progresses. In the last decade or so, hundreds of towers have gone up in the capital, some reaching higher than ever before. The Big Smoke now boasts of one of the tallest buildings in the world.

New York - London.jpg

There seems to be no end in sight for the tower building in London. Many neighbourhoods have been irreversibly changed by the introduction of these towers, especially the residential ones.

One could argue that putting taller buildings in the financial district is more efficient and is a much needed upgrade of those old, decaying and often unsafe ones. In residential areas, however, that position doesn't really stand.

Those neighbourhoods are usually gentrified as a result. If not, towers usually bring in a large amount of new residents that end up putting more pressure on already strained local resources.

There are proposals to bring in three new towers in my neighbourhood in the near future. There is a resistance gathering up against this and understandably so. My neighbourhood is already somewhat overpopulated. We have some patches of grass that are often used for recreation. These patches of open space are part of the proposals of where the towers will go.

83500007.JPG83500023.JPG

All the local resources are under strain already. Bringing in what would be thousands of residents would push them past breaking point I think. Also consider that the government is making many cuts in the area, including closing down police stations, reducing funding for schools and libraries, and so on.

Joining the fight

I'm not usually politically active, but this is a cause I believe in. I have signed a petition to stop the towers from being developed at all. The truth is, the developers couldn't care less where the towers go, as long as they go somewhere and profit is made. Most of the investors in these buildings don't even live in the UK, or if they do, they already live in a mansion somewhere quiet.

There are many other ways of making money than putting more towers in overpopulated areas of the city, and then hoping to sell individual flats for far more than anyone can afford without an extortionate bank loan.

Also, many of these buildings are actually partially empty. That's another problem in London - empty homes. So, more would-be empty homes are being built in a city full of empties.

My neighbours moved in a couple of weeks ago into a home that was empty for a year and a half! Thankfully we didn't get squatters or crackheads moving in there in the mean time.




'Tis the season to be voting

We are in election season now and apparently many of the decision makes are very hungry to do the will of the people for now. I think it's time to strike while the iron is hot because once they get in for another term, then the will of the people will return to the back burner.

The problem is, most people in my neighbourhood are either blissfully unaware of the plans, or don't feel they have the power to do anything about it. People are quite passive and accepting of their fate here.

To an extent, I'm a bit like that too. It's not apathy per se, rather it's a desire for a peaceful, stress-free life. I think that's it. Most people just don't want any trouble, so, they avoid it. I am changing though. I've put my hand up to fill in some positions of leadership in the community, starting with my local residents association. As a result, my life is already a little more stressful than before. I can see why people wouldn't want to do it, but someone has to.

Thanks for your time.

Truly,
DT.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66