Snopes and fundraising

in #observation7 years ago

Do any of you use, or remember using the site Snopes.com?

I came across a campaign of theirs to raise funds in order to not have to close down their site.

image

And it warmed my heart so much to see that in 1 day, the people of the internet have been able to come through and meet their goal.

This site has directly been responsible for my drive to have misinformation cleared up, to allow for better information to prevail and hopefully educate and inform the masses.

I couldn't donate much, but I sent some, as I truly believe in supporting this type of entity. It also leaves me of course wondering at the power of social media, and the value we put on our information.

If you want to support them as well, and cannot find a link trough a search engine, let me know and I will pass it along. Also interested in hearing your experiences if any with this site or ones like it for fact checking!

It's been a while since I've posted, and will be catching up with events that have happened in the last 22 days - quite the roller coaster.

Thank you for your time 🙏🏼

Sort:  

Congratulations @ivhexe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34