Wow talk about the Tweet that backfired... I guess I'm not as rare as they like to claim

in #obamacare8 years ago

steemit.jpgAn up beat post with a quote about Obamacare (Affordable Care Act ) was tweeted. It didn't quite get the responses I think they were expecting.

I can say that this continues with the backwards world idea. War is Peace, Criminals are Good, Whistleblowers are bad, and now Affordable is not affordable.

I was able to go to doctors my whole life until Obamacare. A good portion of my life my parents or me did not have insurance. Yet going to the doctor was still something that could be done.

Later on I did get insurance, and it was something I could usually afford for my entire family. In fact the best I ever had I was paying around $260/month for 100% coverage, no deductible, after copay. Copay was $40 for doctor, and $500 for hospital. That covered me, my wife, and four children. That was about 2 years before ACA was passed.

The year ACA passed insurance prices started climbing dramatically. I changed jobs, but was a Director level position at a hospice. Director of IT. The insurance rates were so high that I could no longer insure any of my family and I ended up getting an HSA that was only good if I put money into it, yet I had to pay each month anyway for the right to put money into it.

If I remember correctly it would have cost me $1500/mo for my family and was an 80/20 insurance with a $5000 deductible. It also had copays.

So I've mentioned this and people have said I am an outlier and it helped more people than it hurt.

Yet there are also tons of businesses not giving employees more than 30 hours per week so they don't have to provide insurance. There are other places that only hire 1099 contractors so they don't have actual employees. It backfired in other ways.

Also contrary to popular mythology that lead to Obamacare. Hospitals would not refuse to treat people. You could go to them without insurance. It was also far easier to work out deals with family practitioners for things outside of the hospital.

It was possible to get medical without medical insurance. This is more difficult today, and when you can achieve it the prices are astronomical compared to what they used to be.

So that is my thing.... I decided to write this post and share some images of the tweets... I guess I'm far from alone.

You can click on the original tweet above to go to the page I got these from.

You get the idea


These tweets go on and on and on. I haven't even read them all myself yet. You can see them by clicking on the original tweet image near the top of this post.


Steem On!




Sort:  

I think they should make clear on the statements how much of the premiums goes to the CEO and other Execs, how much goes to share holders, how much goes to 'admin costs'. I think people would be motivated to change the system to help the consumer and not so much the CEOs or share holders.

Yep, and the hospitals, doctors, etc hate it as well. They are stuck with ridiculous prices as well because the people that wrote the bill were the people getting the blank check. In most places this is known as a "conflict of interest" and yet our politicians pushed it through, and our president at the time championed it and considered it his legacy.

I always wonder why everyone blames the ACA, but not the insurance companies themselves posting record profits. Medical billing in the US is broken in and of itself. The amounts charged for even disposables in treatments are inflated by huge amounts. At this point, I don't see that anything is going to fix the situation.

Oh I did blame them... they wrote the bill. I blame our politicians for voting to pass a huge bill by the people who are getting the blank check.

I keep telling my wife that we should give them the finger and go it our own way.

I used to have 100% coverage working for a large corp in the video game industry. That cost me about 10% of my salary.

Later, I had 0% coverage (for free) and made counter offers whenever a medical bill was sent my way ( $1200 for half an hour of someones time? Really? Why not respond back and offer $60 for half an hour... never failed to work for me. See the lawful path for some excellent reading on dealing with medical insurance.).

These days my wife and I pay $600+ per month for nothing. Horrid coverage, amazingly high deductibles, etc.

Truth be told I'd rather say screw it, go live in a tent, and make my own way. We are being fleeced by scumbags no matter how you look at it. My wife is still not in agreement... but I expect that she will be changing her mind shortly if things continue as they are.

@dwinblood No matter how you look at it people need to start learning how to defend themselves. Pitch forks, shot guns, knowledge of law... I really don't care. Until we let them know that they are not our masters not much will change.

working for a large corp in the video game industry

We should talk about this some time. I know you are a fan of the law and dig into how to represent yourself and such. I have a small (predominantly family members) game company. Will hopefully release our first product some time in the near future. Yet I've not consulted any attorneys.

I may want to pick your brain on that if you have anything you wish to share.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

voxdotcom Vox tweeted @ 15 Feb 2017 - 12:45 UTC

Tell us how the Affordable Care Act has impacted your life: bit.ly/2lNcVFG https://t.co/KCrh4v03mt

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Yep and I have that as a hyperlink on the image I copied at the top. Thanks bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48